We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable food”
Review of Craven Arms

Craven Arms
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family friendly free house on the edge of the beautiful village of Giggleswick & near the market town of Settle. Great food, beer & rooms.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

We ate as a couple after we discovered the pub we had chosen was fully booked. The interior decor is a little odd and outdated. Good choice of local beer and an excellent, reasonable wine list. We only had a main and dessert each. The mains were of good quality and clearly freshly cooked with good ingredients. The chips were a little greasy though. We had what was described as a chocolate torte for dessert but it appeared to be a chocolate sponge and our suspicion was that it had been frozen, not brilliant. Over all good value for money, could be great with a few reeks here and there.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 494julest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 441 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2018

I've reviewed this restaurant before, a year ago. It's still a lovely place to enjoy a good meal, with a good choice if you're a fellow-coeliac. . Tonight, Sunday, I had an excellent beef roast, with tasty gravy, plenty of nice veg., and couldn't find room for the delicious gf brownie with salted honeycomb ice cream my husband loved!
The staff are friendly and helpful, and I'd certainly recommend that you make sure to have a good appetite, so you can try a dessert,

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

One of the best Sunday Lunch we have had. I had the Lamb my Husband had the Pork Loin both excellent Yorkshire pudding with both where huge. fantastic service quick but not rushed. 3 courses with wine less than £60 great value.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Roving663390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We can recommend:
Burger with goats cheese
chunky chips
Fish Pie
Sausage and mash
Mussels
....in fact the whole darn menu !

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MrLew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at The Craven Arms this weekend while doing the Yorkshire 3 peaks and would recommend it to anyone. The rooms were lovely and they were so accommodating! After finishing the 3 Peaks much later than anticipated they kept some food warm for us even though the kitchen was closed. The food is also lovely and they have great vegetarian and vegan options. Thanks you Craven Arms for a wonderful stay!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craven Arms also viewed

 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing