We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Guest House”
Review of Valleymead

Valleymead
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valleymead
Ranked #8 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a stay in Settle visiting family. The Valleymead Guest House is one of the best we have stayed in anywhere. Shirley certainly knows how to run a warm, friendly guest house. Everything from the decor, bed linen and bed (one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in!) toiletries, and the cooked breakfast were first rate. Fresh eggs from the hens at the top of the garden the whole experience was wonderful. We will definitely tell all our friends and will look no further than Valleymead when returning to Settle. Thank you Shirley.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weymouthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Valleymead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just back from our fourth stay at Valley Mead - and it won't be our last. Very thoughtful hosts who are really good company with very comfortable rooms in a lovely environment. A choice of good pubs close by and a super breakfast. What else would you want?

Room Tip: The view from the front room is great but the back garden is a view to behold.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely bedroom, great breakfast, in another lovely room with log fire, served by the host who was really helpful.
The bedroom was well appointed and well thought out.
Tea and coffee and other drinks available on the landing
Easy walk to local pub which was friendly, and and into Settle, Went with walking colleagues but plan to go back with partner

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a lovely b&b just over the bridge from Settle. Easy to walk to anywhere in Settle or the pubs in Giggleswick. Shirley and Robert were good hosts without being in your face. Room was very comfortable, great bed, shower, and breakfast room. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank OzHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Valleymead for the weekend with 2 other couples, so had the whole B&B to ourselves. On arrival we were offered a pot of tea and homemade biscuits straight from the oven which was a nice extra touch. Similarly when we returned from our walk on Saturday Shirley made us a cream tea, with freshly baked scones and we watched the first half of the England Wales rugby match in the lovely conservatory, watching their chickens wandering around the garden. The rooms are all well appointed and it seems like everything has been thought of, from fresh milk in a fridge outside the bedrooms (plus a range of soft drinks) to a hot water bottle and pegs just inside each room for outdoor clothing. There was even a corkscrew, although with plenty of pubs nearby we didn't use ours. There is plenty of parking and the location is excellent for all of the local amenities. Great breakfast too and good value for money.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2012, arriving by train. Shirley met us at the station, and Robert took us back at the end of our stay, despite heavy snow making driving difficult. (Despite the postal address being Giggleswick, Valleymead is much closer to Settle station than to Giggleswick Station). This was typical of their kindness. There were home baked cookies on arrival, the room was fine, and it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent. In the evening we ate at the Black Horse in Giggleswick on the first night, which was fine (nice quiet atmosphere, great beer -- taylors landlord, well kept -- and OK food) and at the Lion in Settle on the 2nd night (more lively, food better than the BH but also more expensive). We also visited the Harts Head in Giggleswick which was a bit too lively for our tastes. The Naked Man in Settle is good for tea etc (though if he exists, we never set eyes on him). Anyway, Valleymead is highly recommended, and excellent value for money. It's particularly good if you don't want to travel by car. We hope to be back there 'ere long.

Room Tip: I think they only have one room with a bath, which we specially requested.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here when cycling the Way of The Roses (alone)....
Very warm welcome with coffee and cake and nice room.
Very relaxed setting and a 5 minute walk into Settle with places to eat and drink.
Unlike some hotels good internet connection which was nice.
Garage to lock bike in
Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOHBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
1.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
5.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valleymead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valleymead

Address: Valley Mead Stackhouse Lane | Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing