We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere and fantastic food!”

The Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Italian Restaurant in Settle is a cosy intimate restaurant in the heart of Settle. It is perfect for every occasion from a romantic meal for two up to larger groups of up to 18/20 people, taking the whole restaurant at no extra cost. Free parking is available right outside the door. Reservations are recommended and please be aware we only accept cash. We don't advertise a take-away service but if we can, we will, inbetween serving the restaurant so please ring in advance to avoid dissapointment. Should you require a high chair please mention this when booking, as we are only small we have to store them off site
West Yorkshire,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and fantastic food!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I first stumbled across The Italian Restaurant (formerly known as Gusto) in 2010 whilst on a walking weekend in the Yorkshire Dales. What first attracted me was the smell... the aroma of garlic drifting across The Shambles was too hard to resist. The ambient lighting helps to create a romantic setting and the close proximity to the kitchen and friendly staff help to create a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Since then I have dined out at Gusto/The Italian on several occasion's and am delighted to say that I have never been disappointed. I have also been fortunate enough to try the meals served by Matteo, Luke and now the most recent chef Julian. Each one has been excellent with a special favourite of mine being the seafood linguini. The prices are also very reasonable and they have a good selection of wines that I am pleased to say aren't supermarket brands with the price elevated! I am looking forward to my next visit and would recommend The Italian Restaurant to anyone visiting or passing by Settle!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth revisiting!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very welcoming restaurant. Cosy atmosphere and good menu with an interesting specials board. Whilst on holiday in Settle we visited twice in one week and on both occasions the food was good quality and the service was good. Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrRainydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“goodfoodlover”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

had a take away a few weeks ago and have never been so disappointed in my life. was expecting a tasty authentic italian pizza and i think i would have had more enjoyment in eating the box it came in. both pizzas and garlic bread were bland and tastless . the chips just the same. i definately wont be eating there again and if i fancy a pizza next time im in settle i will pop to the chippy next door and get one there. without even knowing what they taste like i know they will definately be an improvement. cant believe all the other trip advisor comments, they must have been wrote by the owner and his family. this is the first time i have ever been tempted to write a trip advisor comment . probably wouldnt have bothered if the price had been resonable. two weeks later and i still havent got over being ripped of and fooled into thinking i was going to get a tasty tea.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Italain food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been going to 'The Italian' and its predecessor 'Gusto's" since they opened a few years ago. The owners who run the place, who cook and serve, are warm and welcoming. They also have a great Italian chef. The Italian offers an excellant range of choices of authentic pizza and pasta's as well as meat dishes. You can dine in the lovely cellar or have a take away, if the latter I would recommend phoning an order through or if you are happt to wait then enjoy a glass of wine and a good chat whilst your supper is being prepared. The Italian is well priced and great value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francis_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tiny Little Italian”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This little italian situated in the Market Square offers a good value italian meal, choose from pasta to pizzas. One downside is that they now only take cash, there are notices saying that they do not take debit/credit cards but we tried to pay by cheque and were told they no longer accept these.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony_AG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Restaurant also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing