We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL GEM IN THE DALES”
Review of Settle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settle Lodge
Ranked #6 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM IN THE DALES”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spending 8 days walking in the dales, I needed a comfortable base. Settle Lodge provided everything I needed. A good car park at the rear of the premises. A very comfortable and bright and airy room. A good breakfast and only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. My room had a lovely modern bathroom, a good choice of teas and coffee and fresh milk if required. The view over the dales was great. The house has a lovely front garden where it was nice to sit in the evening. Amanda and Edouardo are the perfect hosts and work hard to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
153
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a lovely time staying in settle at this b & b. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were furnished nicely and very clean. The full English breakfast was delicious. Settle lodge was located within walking distance to the train station and town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danicatard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a room! We were gobsmacked by the spacious comfort of Room 4. There was a supply of tea, coffee and snacks and we could relax in the armchairs or couch and admire the stunning view.
And what a view! From our first floor windows we looked directly across the Dales and to the left over Settle.
Amanda and Eduardo were friendly hosts and served excellent breakfasts.
Being on the main road we had easy access to the town centre but were well insulated from traffic noise. There was a wide choice of lunch fare at Ye Olde Naked Man cafe and bakery and superb dinners with a quiet and intimate atmosphere at The Little House.
A wide range of reading material for activities and personal snippets from our hosts ensured our days there were filled and encouraged the desire to return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 4 - spacious room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a gem. We received a very warm welcome (this was our second visit). Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Lots of space. Extremely comfortable room and bed. Breakfast was excellent: fresh juice, fresh melon and strawberries, nice selection of jams, delicious cooked breakfast with vegetarian options. Plenty of guide books, bus timetables, etc. Location is great. We walked to central Settle for food both nights (we found Ravenous and The Lion excellent).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a few days in Settle just to get away for a change and this B&B really is lovely. We were made to feel very welcome, and our room (7) was very tastefully decorated and furnished. It has everything we needed, and the breakfast room was beautiful, with a lovely picture window overlooking the hills around Settle. Very peaceful and resting. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it, with fruit, cereals, yoghurts, and a good cooked breakfast with good quality ingredients.

Settle itself is a very down to earth Yorkshire Dales town, with a couple of good pubs for food. If you want up market and trendy this is not the place, but if you want a friendly welcome in a very genuine town, then this is for you.

Easy car journeys to Skipton or Kirby Lonsdale gives you a few places to visit.

Room Tip: Room 4 looks really spacious, but we were in room 7 in the attic, which isn't quite as big, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelmirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fantastic hosts, very knowledgeable, professional & friendly. Modern decor in bedrooms with comfy beds and quality products. Yummy breakfast with a variety of local produce. Would definitely recommend staying here and would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mete1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The room was spacious and furnished to a very high standard, as was the rest of the property. Delicious and varied breakfasts. The owners were very friendly and looked after us very well, right down to a cup of tea and piece of (delicious) home made cake on arrival at no extra charge. The guest house is well positioned for access to the centre of Settle and the railway station. Couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the front had lovely views and a huge bed. Overlooked the main road but there was very li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.2 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Lodge

Property: Settle Lodge
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary styled grand Victorian house.Easy walk to Settle centre and station.Perfect base for non-car users. Beautifulviews, luxurious ensuite rooms and friendlyservice. Ample private car park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing