We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL V GOOD...AFTER 42 YEARS!”
Review of Prince of India

Prince of India
Ranked #630 of 833 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“STILL V GOOD...AFTER 42 YEARS!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't usually bother to write reviews of Indian restaurants as they are usually much of a muchness. But I make an exception for this one....as it was the first Indian restaurnt I ever visited, back in 1971! That was in the days when Indians were empty until chucking out time then groups of men, tanked up on ten pints of Bass, would stagger in and ordered the hottest thing on the menu. Times and tastes have changed and this restaurant has stood the test of time because it is consistently good. On Saturday April 6 my companion and I had possibly the best Indian for years. Everything superb - from the service to the freshness of the popadoms and chutneys, to the king prawn dhansak, the chicken Madras, sag alloo, pillau rice and chapati. Bill for two (inl. one large bottle Indian beer and two single brandies): £32.50. No longer in an upmarket part of town (every other premises seems to have a bouncer on the door) this place has to be good to survive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jukeboxcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    16
    12
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Must do better....”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Can only give this 2 stars. portions were small. food bland. my step father had an English chicken and chips, as he just came along for the ride really. The waiter more or less laughed when he presented this dish, and we soon saw why. Not many bits of diced chicken, a few peas and french fries which prob came from next door. We also laughed. You had to really.
Yes we had a voucher, but as another reviewer mentioned its there chance to showcase their food. And although service was ok and the place looked a lot better than 10 years ago, the food wasnt up to par. So many good Indians in Norwich-Chutney, Merchants, Spice Lounge to name just 3.
We are unlikely to return.
As an aside stepfather had a KFC on the way home..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHonor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went for an evening meal and was pleasantly surprised.

We went midweek and as expected the place was empty when we got there, we were the only ones eating although the takeaway was fairly busy. I started with the Biran Salmon which was very tasty followed by the Chicken Satkora which was new to me and although looking a little different again was very tasty.

Service throughout was very attentive even though the place was filling up quite rapidly. All was washed down with glasses of Old Fakir, a Norwich brewed real ale to go with Indian food. Although the beer was a little cloudy and a little on the expensive side it certainly went with the food.

A good evening and would certainly return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice Indian cuisine”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Jumped in after 10 pm, the restaurant was empty and staff was cleaning. I ordered a simple curry and got a nice explanation and some hints what to try.
The restaurant gives a very clean impression, people are very friendly. I'd go again when I have some more time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“£9.95 buffet meal on a Wednesday”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't bother!! Just went there tonight and the quality and quantity are both poor. Think you're getting a good deal? No you're not as the portions are about half. If this is a reflection on their full price effort, then I'm not going to risk it. Not going again. One rule of business, if your going to promote the business with a cheaper offer, don't skimp on the quantity, it damages the reputation of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of India also viewed

 

Been to Prince of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing