We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky dining”
Review of The Last Wine Bar

The Last Wine Bar
Ranked #26 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky dining”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fantastic menu with some way out dishes. Never had chilled, red Sancerre before but will have it again. What a gem of a restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveV_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    168
    45
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Memories that will last”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very good menu offering good well cooked food in lively surroundings.Service extremely good with grest recommendations from the menu.All in all a good night and well worth another visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBINONorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere, great wine, great food.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very impressed with this restaurant which I visited for a business lunch. Superb and extensive selection of wines and food, and a similarly excellent range of food including the excellent daily specials. Lovely homely mostly wooden interior, very welcoming on a cold day. Service was brisk and friendly but not intrusive. Definitely one of the superior establishments in Norwich. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and will come again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GhengisKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had been once before and were rated things highly, but this time we felt everything came together superbly to take our meal to a whole new level of enjoyment. The food can't be faulted and the service was excellent. We ate downstairs, which was fine, but next time will aim for the bar area, which on this occasion was packed with diners thoroughly enjoying themselves. This created an atmosphere that seemed unbeatable. We will be back as soon as we can.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff but shame about the flowers!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It has been a while since I last ate here but the standard has not slipped at all in the intervening time. I had the day's fish special - whole sea bream with new potatoes and sugar snaps. Delicious! For dessert it was time for the lemon meringue - again delicious. Loved it.
Value is good in so far as you have a choice of bar menu or a la carte ... we went a la carte.
Rating would have been excellent if not for the only downside. There was the large vase of flowers near our table which looked beautiful but included lillies ... strong smelling lillies which were over powering. The waitress was great and moved them for us but please ... such a strong aroma kills the taste of the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Last Wine Bar also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Last Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing