We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great treat and never disappoints”
Review of The Last Wine Bar

The Last Wine Bar
Ranked #25 of 833 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great treat and never disappoints”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The last is one of my favourite places for a fine night out in Norwich. It can be really popular so you should book, especially at weekends. There are three dining areas, but the one nearest the bar is by the best for atmosphere. The food is always well prepared and the menu changes on a frequent basis. As you might expect the wine list (and beers too) is extensive, they also have some really good port available if you want to finish off in style.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0RWICH_LAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    169
    46
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“V.Good for Anywhere, Excellent for Norwich”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have eaten many times at this restaurant. Book if you can and ask for the bar area, by far the best atmosphere. It is modelled on, and mimics very well, a French brasserie (the same people run 'The Last Brasserie' on Unthank Road in Norwich). The food is consistently good, the wine list excellent and the atmosphere relaxed. I have to admit that I almost always go for the 'steak frites', as I would if I was in France and it is (almost) always cooked perfectly. Friends have often gone for fish that was always good (apparently). The starters have never let us down and are an interestingly diverse bunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have eaten here many times, and the experience has almost always exceeded my expectations. There have been a very few occasions where the service or the food have been slightly off. I think the difficulty is that the food and attention are so impeccable that if something goes slightly array, you really notice it in comparison to the norm.

The food is great! One night thing is that you can order off the bar menu or the restaurant menu - I *think* this is possible, even in the restaurant. Anyway, I often find the bar menu slightly more appealing but you can mix and match from both.

If you're able to get a seat in the bar, this has much more character - all shoe factor details, dark panelled food, the atmosphere makes it an especially enjoyable experience.

Of course, there is a great selection of .... wine!

The presentation of the food is always spectacular, and the restaurant menu offers some very unique and imaginative creations.

I like to keep this place for special events in particular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
“Consistently brilliant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been dining at the last for a number of years and have always been impressed by the service and consistency of the food. Great for a quick lunch or for a birthday celebration - we've had a few of those in the restaurant, although mug prefer the atmosphere in the bar area.
The wine list is of particular note, with enough to keep everyone satisfied, although it can be a pretty pricey at points.
When visiting last we popped in for lunch and ate off the bar menu a great value and in my opinion is hard to beat in central Norwich!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went for wine tasting and meal which was very good. There is a good atmosphere here, the staff are friendly, and it's great for a light meal or a more special one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pensy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Last Wine Bar also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Last Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing