We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment close to city centre, highly...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Upper St Giles street - The Times list '30 coolest places to live in UK'
Upper St Giles street
Upper St Giles Street - luxury 2 bed apartment (first floor of cream/white house)
street/window view - overlooked by Roman Catholic Cathedral
Upper St Giles Street - Delicatessen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColEdric
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent apartment close to city centre, highly recommended”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

This is a great apartment in the city centre. It is well equipped with all we needed. The owners were most helpful. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliacan...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful apartment in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Literally could not be happier with our stay. 5 stars ***** :-)

Where do I start? The location is central and so easy to find, the car park is round the back and we were informed of this from the start. Keith and Lily were exceptionally hospitable - with emails and documents with all the relevant information we could possibly need. We arranged a time to meet at the apartment and Keith showed us the easiest way to the car park - he then showed us around and confirmed we could get in and out using the keys and keypads (one very simple pin which is also written in the apartment). We also had their number if we needed to contact them at any point.

The apartment was in tip-top condition. The kitchen was equipped well and my friends and I could of stayed there for much longer! The owners even left us a hamper which was not expected but very appreciated!!! The rooms are super cute and there is pretty much a spare of everything. I personally loved the information books Keith and Lily left, we found an amazing little waffle shop which was a few minutes walk down the road and we are so so so glad we went there.

Norwich is a great place to stay, there is so much to do, and I would not hesitate to use this apartment again in the future. It's nice and central making it walking-distance from everything we wanted to do, as well as being just far away enough from the night life to get a good nights sleep.

Thank you again to Keith and Lily for being so accommodating :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swdmkel
Barbaresco, Italy
1 review
“Location!”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Very nice apartment in a wonderful neighborhood, close to everything.....with parking....what more could you want? Very accommodating hosts....thank for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen not well equipped!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to explore Norwich”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Keith and Lily's flat was just perfect for the four of us. The flat is situated in a lovely street - especially enjoyed the new cake shop that opened a few doors door and the deli for breakfast! Just a short walk to Tescos for the weekend supplies. The flat had everything we needed and was warm and cosy during a cold January weekend. With family in Norwich we hope to come back and stay again - the only thing I need to do is Fizz and Chips, which we left until Sunday and it was closed - so there definitely has to be a next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula N
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Based on the description and the throughout extremely positive reviews of the previous guests we came to Norwich with very high expectations and - unfortunately - we were rather disappointed. The apartment does have its assets, e.g. the private parking at the back of the apartment, good location (close to shops and restaurants in the city centre, easy access to main roads leading to surrounding area), spacious rooms, comfortable beds. However, we would certainly not describe the apartment as a luxury apartment for a number of reasons:

- It is true that the apartment is located in the quieter part of Upper St Giles Street but the description did not mention the fact that the apartment is also located next to a four-lane main road (A147) which is heavily used both during the day and the night. So particularly at night we suffered from constant traffic noise which made sleeping rather difficult as both bedrooms look out to this road. Also, the noise prevented us from opening the windows at night to regulate the room temperature (see next item).

- The heating / room temperature was rather difficult to regulate. Since the heating only produced heat during the night in order to give off heat during the day, the rooms were pretty warm in the early hours of the day and became quite cool in the evenings. Somehow the temperature was never right. Also, despite using the "boost" function at the radiator in the bathroom, its capacity was too weak to really heat the whole room, so it was not a room in which you spent more time than you had to.

- When using the shower the water temperature constantly changed from boiling hot to freezing cold even if you did not touch the temperature regulator of the shower at all, so it was very uncomfortable to take a shower. There is a real danger of burning yourself!!

- The kitchen was not well equipped; there were hardly enough plates, glasses, cups. The cutlery was old and very used.

- The communication with the owners prior to our arrival was good and we looked forward to meeting them in person at the agreed time on our arrival day. Since they knew we had not been to Norwich before, we hoped to get a few tips on where to go, what to do etc. (like they obviously had done in the past, according to various reviews). However, the reception was rather cool and abrupt. Keith was clearly in a hurry and wanted to get away as soon as possible. So he basically just hurried through the apartment and even forgot to give us the pin code for the house entrance door. Unfortunately, the folder on the coffee table with information and brochures about places of interest in Norwich and the surrounding area was rather outdated and pretty chaotic so, all in all, not very helpful. We were lucky to have a good guidebook of the area, but, unfortunately, the owners were not of much help to us. Also, they did not get in contact with us anymore after having handed over the keys, which was in quite a contrast to their style of communication prior to our arrival and to what we had read in the reviews of former guests.

All the above mentioned aspects led to our decision to leave the apartment one day earlier than planned. We are sure that there are worse places to stay at, but the description as a "luxury" apartment is definitely misleading and does not reflect reality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private parking
Liked least: traffic noise
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synthhuma...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm & welcoming home from home”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Smart, clean apartment in a cool street, a great place to stay while working in Norwich for a week. Keith & Lily communicate well in advance of your stay & are there if you need anything. I was working at the theatre for 5 nights & the apartment is extremely handy as it is only a few minutes walk away.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbi-Beni...
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy apartment in Norwich's city center”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was a return to Norwich after our one year stay at the UEA 39 years ago. The charming apartment at the Upper St. Giles Street considerably contributed to the success of our happy reunion of the lovely city. The apartment is very clean, quiet, and equipped with all needed. We even cooked our dinners with fresh foodstuff straight from the local market. The apartment is ideally located near the city center, everything in walking distance. We also appreciated the warm welcome from Lily and Keith, culminating in a surprising welcome basket filled with all kinds of treats. It will not last another 39 years until we return to Norwich and spend some days in this lovely apartment. Thanks Lily and Keith for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charme and location of the apartment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing