We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic,clean and comfortable accommodation”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #20 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room with a friend for a football weekend. The room was not en-suite but the adjacent bathroom was shared with only one other room and was very clean and spacious.

The room itself was fine, clean and comfortable but decor maybe a little dated.

The welcome and hospitality were excellent and the breakfast very good. Parking can be difficult but we were early enough to use a resident's pass.

Don't expect 4/5 star comfort but if you want an excellent value comfortable option, this is fine. Handy for the station and city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had such a wonderful stay at the Abbey Hotel. Mandy and David are the loveliest people and are so warm and welcoming. The hotel is very clean, quiet and in an ideal location. Some people say the decor is dated but I found it charming and personal, the opposite of the impersonal, more clinical chains of budget hotels. The breakfast is amazing too :) If you want a comfortable, pleasant and memorable stay in Norwich (for all the right reasons) I couldn't recommend the Abbey and its wonderful hosts highly enough. I will definitely be returning to the Abbey Hotel when I next visit Norfolk. Thank you :) x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you strongly prefer four or five star international hotels, then this is probably not something for you. If you like prefer small, friendly hotel at a good price, then this is something more like it.
I arrived early which was not a problem, as I had advised that beforehand. Room was fine, but not luxury. Had everything I needed. Bath room recently redone. Host very friendly and helpful. English breakfast as one could hope for. Here you get good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ideal for one night's B&B, there are two single rooms sharing shower & toilet, but you get what you pay for. Not too expensive and you get a very good English breakfast. Easy to get to the city centre of Norwich as you can hop a bus from the forecourt of the railway station just along the road or it's just as easy to walk if you feel fit. I enjoyed my stay here recently so much that I've booked again for another night out in Norwich with my work colleagues!

Room Tip: If you want to pay more, you can choose en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is hardly a 5* luxury retreat, but it never claims to be. You get exactly what you pay for, and some decent customer service on top. Having shared shower/toilet facilities is not perfect, but it's only a small guest house and I never had a problem with it. The room was small but just what you need if you don't plan on being in it all the time - bed, sink, TV, towel, tea & coffee, and a couple of spare plug sockets.

One bonus to this place is the free breakfast, which makes it great value for money. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and always try to make you feel welcome. Well worth a stay if you're watching the pennies, and certainly better than some budget chain hotels. It's also right by the train station, with direct bus services through town to UEA.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Really satisfactory 2 night stay in room 3.
Bedroom, bathroom, public areas, dining room all very clean.
People friendly and helpful. Offered us a cold drink on arrival as it was a hot day. Bags were carried upstairs for us. Breakfast was excellent, good quality and well cooked. See pics posted. Lovely cafetiere coffee. Got offered more toast, coffee, anything else we wanted. Would def stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had booked a single room but got the family room for £45 pn. The room was very clean and tidy if a bit old fashioned in decor. The bed was very comfortable but there can be some early morning noise from the Post office depot opposite.The included full english breakfast was excellent - really fills you up for the day ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.0 mi away
Marlborough Guest House
Marlborough Guest House
#12 of 80 in Norwich
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
number 17
number 17
#15 of 80 in Norwich
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $84 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Guest House is a family-run bed & breakfast accommodation and is situated in the Norwich City Centre. This homely B&B has 7 rooms which some have en-suite bathrooms and some have shared facilities. As we only has 7 rooms which is easy for us to take care of our guests with our hospitality. Tasty Breakfast The Abbey Guest House provides not only full English cooked breakfast, but also vegetarian & vegan breakfast which are second to none. There is no secret in doing a tasty breakfast which is cooked in fresh with free range eggs, local butcher sausages, fresh mushrooms, etc. and a hearty attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing