We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mint Room - CLOSED

The Mint Room
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Exclusive indian dining in norwich we specialise in corporate parties we are family friendly with 200 seat capacity housed in 18th century chapel you are guaranteed to have a grand dining experience .
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Went for a celebratory dinner with the family, the best Indian I've had in a while! Lovely atmosphere and relaxed, delicious food of great quality an price, and great service. Will be returning soon and recommending to friends and family.

Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    19
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, served quickly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I attended the mint room with a group of friends as a farewell for one who was jetting off for a year, they were happy to seat us and were friendly when we were ordering. They knew all the dishes and gave us recommendations when we struggled to decide. Food was brought out quickly and cooked very well, lovely seasoning. Great atmosphere and plenty of space to accommodate everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Visited as a family of 4 following wining a voucher for 2 in a charity auction. This was a slight problem as the voucher which stated "four courses for 2 people from our set menu", however there was no set menu which caused some confusion. This was eventually sorted out and we were offered choices from the main menu.

The standard of food was excellent and plentiful, and they were only too happy to put what we didn't eat in take-away containers. We had a range of starters, main courses and side dishes and everything was served piping hot and extremely tasty.

Would definitely recommend and will visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An improvement on the previously known oasis restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We used a discount voucher to see how the mint room compared to when it was known as the oasis. We must have been greeted by the same waiter as Chetan m as we booked for 1.30 pm and because of Saturday traffic arrived at 1.37. We were told off for being late and that they closed at 2pm! Normally when restaurants give opening times 12-2 pm they take orders or at least serve food up go 2 pm. The dishes we chose were lime and chicken chicken tikka and king prawn damask and I must say they were both excellent. Surprisingly if they wanted everyone out by 2pm they asked if we wanted poppadums before our mains. The food was very good but the attitude of one particular disinterested and unwelcoming waiter means I for one will not be making a return visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed A, Manager at The Mint Room, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
thank you for your review we appreciate your contribution on improving our business. i am truly sorry for the behaviour of one of our staff staff in question does not under any circumstances have the right to be rude or abrupt towards any of our customers. they do not have the right to refuse customers if they arrive within the opening hours. please contact management directly on our landline or email thru our website as i would like to which staff in-particular has behaved in this manner as there is no room in the mint room for poor customer service. i do hope that you except my sincere apology and i do hope that you give the mint room another chance in the future many thanks


management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We cannot fault the food of the Mint room, it is really lovely, much better than Oasis which had really gone downhill, just hope this doesn't do the same. The waiter we had was quite friendly, though the barman looked a bit worried because he had run out of draught Cobra, which is what my husband ordered. I think the food is quite pricey so we only go when we get a voucher from Groupon, but will definitely go again provided we get another groupon voucher or they lower their prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mint Room also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing