We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norwich's best kept secret?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Britannia

Cafe Britannia
Ranked #22 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Based at the former Britannia Barracks and with spectacular views over Norwich, Cafe Britannia opened its doors to the public in January 2014. Our slogan taste rules, symbolises our delicious freshly cooked meals. As a social enterprise, we strive to not only put our profits back into community projects but we actively source a large proportion of our products from local Norfolk suppliers and from our own prison gardens. We are open 7 days a week with a dedicated breakfast menu served till 11:30,daytime menu including main lunches, light bites and afternoon tea, and an evening bistro menu which includes daytime favourites plus some teatime specials. Our main menu includes amongst other things gourmet burgers, fish & chips, ploughman's and omelettes. Plus an array of beautiful cakes, speciality scones, sausage rolls and Vintage afternoon tea. The cafe is staffed by category D low risk prisoners, many of whom have limited catering experience but all have volunteered to learn new skills, improve their lives and make a fresh start. The team all work incredibly hard to make the project a success and their commitment has shown, as Cafe Britannia has fast become one of the busiest cafes/restaurants in Norwich. All profits generated from the cafe are donated to community projects, including customer tips which are donated to Victim Support. To date, over £5,000 in tips have been donated to Victim Support.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Norwich's best kept secret?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Didn't know what to expect when I agreed to meet a friend at the Prison Café - but what I found was a very impressive space, great view out over the city and the best breakfast I have had in a long time - real eggs scrambled, not powdered egg - proper black pudding too. The staff were helpful and it was nice to see people who wanted to be there. Definitely worth a visit, I will be taking friends there and my girls too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    168
    48
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views, Good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We've taken both friends and family to Cafe Britannia six time now, good wholesome food served by extremely helpful and polite staff, we've enjoyed every visit. Today was a little rainy we were still able to eat outside under the covered terrace. The terrace offers some of the best views of Norwich, both cathedrals, the castle, County Hall and more, wonderful. Thank you to Tim and Neil for making today's visit so interesting. With the friendly relaxed atmosphere and good value meals, we hope to be returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We are very lucky to live near Brittannia Cafe and have enjoyed breakfast and lunches there on a number of occasions (it's very tempting). Apart from the wonderful views over the city the cafe itself is clean, inviting and comfortable.The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is great. The food is good value and is cooked freshly to order (vegetarians are well catered for) Everyone we have taken there has been impressed. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit to somewhere that little bit different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I paid a second visit to Café Britannia today. The meal I had - Fish Finger Sandwich was delicious and I definitely would like to return again. The café has a pleasant, busy atmosphere and the staff polite & welcoming. I much prefer somewhere like this to an overpriced national chain.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NutmegNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I visited for lunch with family last week and it was a delightful surprise! With wonderful views of Norwich city and delicious reasonably priced food, what more could anyone ask for? When the lunch I ordered was unfortunately no longer available (we were lunching quite late), the waiter was very apologetic and polite, and an alternative choice was delicious anyway!

I will definitely visit again and am already telling lots of my friends about it. Hope this venture continues to do well, it is a brilliant idea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Britannia also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Cafe Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing