We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service in a Five Star City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Five Star Service in a Five Star City”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Five Star service from the staff, excellent rooms (ours overlooked the pitch) easy access to Norwich. Try the new breakfast menu! Staff and Hotel accommodation could not be better. A credit to the manager.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieGoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for your generous comments following your recent stay, thank you for highlighting the new Breakfast menu, the initial feedback gained from guests is very positive, and we are encouraged taking this forward for the rest of our group of properties. Naturally all credit in service from welcome to departure lies with my team, I’ll ensure your kind words are shared. I trust we will be able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Norwich City at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    364
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
164
322
56
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A comfortable , clean and quiet hotel for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, Myself and my team are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and welcome your recommendations, I trust should needs bring you to the area in the future we will be able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed here in June 2009 for 5 days (4 nights) for business and it was EXCELLENT!
The staff were efficient, helpful, curtious and well mannered.
The hotel is well looked after and in a great location with easy access into town.
I wouldn't bring my kids here but for business or couples, it's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that my team were able to deliver a consistent level of service and meet your needs during your stay. I trust should your needs bring you to Norwich in the future you’ll find our service has not diminished, and your trust in our product will be confirmed. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We selected this hotel based on its TripAdvisor rating and were not disappointed.

We stayed three nights and were welcomed by a glass of wine and newspaper, sadly this only happens on a Monday. Although this is clearly a business hotel, all the hotel staff is very friendly and is making you feel welcomed. I would therefore say that the hotel is fine for leisure and holidays too, as was the case for us. It is literally next to the Norwich city football ground, and you have to pay to park, but the car park is supervised. The railway station is a 10 minute walk away and the city centre another 10 minutes. Norwich feels safe, so there were no problems walking back in the dark. If you don't fancy the walk, "Yellows" restaurant (run by Delia Smith) is round the corner and part of the football ground, and this can be recommended. The area is fine but there is some traffic noise if your room faces Carrow Road as ours was. This only becomes noticable if you have the window open.

This is a new hotel and the rooms and facilities are spotlessly clean with spacious rooms and everything is new and fresh. Our bedroom had two double beds and was roomy and pleasant. The bathroom was beautiful. Nothing was worn or scuffed.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast, and this had a good selection of hot and cold food and helpful staff. It helped turning up at 09.30 after the business people had left, but the breakfast bar was still fresh and fully stocked.

We only had a few small niggles. The beds are hard and took time to get used to. Without the air conditioning on, the room gets stuffy, but the air conditioning is fairly noisy. But the bathroom is ventilated all the time and the fan is quiet so no problems with a noisy bathroom fan that takes ages switching off. A peculiarity is that you cannot have the bedside lamp on without the rest of the room lights. This may seem like a trivial point, but one of the beds was directly opposite a large mirror with a prominent light, and we never found a switch for this light, so had it shining in our eyes when reading in bed.

Norwich is worth a visit. It has a fabulous cathedral, a castle, many historic houses and plentiful of good shops. The canal walk is pleasant. You won't struggle to find a restaurant and there are nightclubs if you are so inclined (we were not). The surrounding areas can also be recommended, and we had a lovely day in the northern parts of Norfolk. We would come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your comprehensive review of both our hotel and the surrounding area. We’ve started the weekend welcome desk!, last Friday we welcomed several weekend guests with Strawberries & Cream and a glass of Pimms, we were also able to help, advise and recommend places to visit. A natural extension to our Monday desk, we realized it was a great opportunity focus upon our weekends to support our guests’ visits to Norwich. Norwich is a welcome destination for anyone with whatever the interest; Norwich has a lot to offer, from Culture and Cobbled Streets to renowned Restaurants and entertainment to suit all ages. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed two nights and ate one evening meal. The hotel is actually incorporated into the football ground with great views of the whole pitch from many of the rooms on the right hand inside of the hotel. I imagine these are very popular and carry a p[remium at match times. The groundsmen started work at about 7.30 each morning and were rather noisy but it is a football ground so it comes with the deal. The rooms were clean and quiet, (4th floor) there beds very comfortable and the breakfasts generous and tasty with perfect poached eggs although the bacon and black puddings were dried out and the bacon very salty both days. Service was charming and helpful on the desk and in the restaurant. Evening meal was surprisingly good and above my expectations. There is a small gym on the first floor. Car parking is round the back in the footbal ground parking area and was reasonably safe, patrolled and well lit costing £5 per day. The rest of the clientele were mostly business people with the odd wag and tatooed group of blokes but all civilised. It superceded my expectations for a chain owned city centre hotel by a long way. Worth a look, especially if your kids like wakening up overlooking the canaries' pitch. (I have no interest in football, sadly!) :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpig_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I’m pleased that overall we met with your satisfaction. The rooms are indeed very popular and do in fact carry a premium on match days. The works in question next door to the hotel (commented in a previous review) are those of the Football Club extending their seating to this ever popular ground, in preparation for the season start with works due for completion at the end of July. I’m pleased to note that we are currently trialing a revised breakfast offering with greater choice and healthier options, running for this next month, the black pudding is no more. The initial feedback is very good with all the team behind it, I’m sure this will add to our offering and compliment the standards delivered throughout. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We originally booked a 2 for 1 stay here back in May and paid in advance. Nearer the time of our visit we realised we need to arrive a day later than intended as we were attending our eldest son's graduation. I spoke to a very helpful girl at the hotel and she moved our dates forward and confirmed there would be no extra to pay.
On arrival I mentioned to the man at check in how helpful she was regarding our date change, this seemed to set in motion a change in attitude where he went off to check our booking we were firstly told we had only paid for one night, then that we had not paid sufficient deposit. Eventually he agreed everything was ok but I had the impression he felt we were out to con him, not a pleasant situation.
Normally when we visit our elder son we stay in the Premier Inn in Duke Street and cannot praise them enough, but as we had our 17 year old with us we booked a family room here.
At check out the scenario was repeated stating I had only paid for one night. I was not asked whether we had enjoyed our stay and because I found the attitude so intimidating I omitted to complain about the state of the carpet in the room resembling a murder scene covered with blood, red wine or food spills.
Not a good experience and our on next visit to Norwich we will be back to the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with ourselves, whilst attending your sons’ graduation. I regret and apologise that your check in leading ultimately to your check out was not a reflection of our normal service levels, coupled with that the bedroom carpet. This stain has been treated previously to no avail; we are working with our owners to replace this carpet. Regrettably on this occasion this room had to be used, which in turn further impacted upon your stay. I understand your reluctance to repeat your stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City, and respect your decision to stay with my colleagues at The Duke Street Premier Travel Inn who also have a commendable level of service. I trust should your needs bring to Norwich in the future and you are unable to be accommodated at that venue you would again consider ourselves as the choice for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is good, clean and write behind the football pitch. But I ordered room service, It came looking like it had sat on the shelf for a couple of weeks, then when returned came back looking not much better.
I order a main and a dessert, but it only came with a knife and fork, so nothing to eat dessert with. Well it had melted anyway from waiting for hte main to be returned.

Oh dear, try better!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileage-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerNWICR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay and your room service experience. As with all reviews I sent and discussed your review with my management team in Food & Beverage. We will try better, and we will get it right. Please accept our apologies for the lack of attention you received, and to further compound your dissatisfaction with the missing spoon. We’re always trying and always moving forward, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, best regards General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing