We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to stay for the Football”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay for the Football”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Four of us stayed here for the weekend because we were at the Norwich v Arsenal match. From the moment we stepped inside the hotel the staff couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with a warm welcome and even though the check in time was not until 2pm our room was ready and we were allowed in. We had 2 double beds which was nice and we didn't even realise until we pulled back the curtains we had a pitch view as well. Everybody in the hotel was so polite and friendly. We had pre booked the breakfast which I recommend but you can also do it on arrival at reception and save about £4 per person I think. I thought it was well worth it as it has an unlimited help yourself buffet with everything you could want and even the specials in the breakfast menu are included too so all you had to do is ask one of the staff and they will bring it to your table. On the matchday the place obviously gets busier but there was enough staff serving the bars so we didn't have to wait too long for our pre match beers! I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Room 307 we were in and you got a good view of the whole pitch !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Chris J,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and feedback further to your recent stay at the hotel! I was delighted to read your comments which I will be sharing with my team.

I do trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    360
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
320
56
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable and all you would expect from a newish Holiday Inn.
Had a good night's sleep and pretty quiet considering it was in the city.
However breakfast service let the experience down badly.
1. The restaurant area cramped and a decidedly down market feel to it.
2. Service very poor - only two staff and tables not cleared coffee/tea not offered.
3. Breakfast was not of the standard I have experienced at other Holiday Inns. Scrambled eggs leathery, breads not replaced when they ran out etc etc.
I saw several people just give up and go.
If service is improved would go back, because the bedrooms are comfortable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerhair54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your review Gingerhair 54 and good comments about the bedrooms.

We're naturally disappointed about your comments with regards to your overall breakfast experience and do respect your view. As you may have noticed from other reviews on Tripadvisor this is far from the norm and generally receive extremely positive feedback. The issues raised by you have been discussed with the Head Chef and the Restaurant Manager and do trust you will give us another opportunity for you to experience our high standards.

Please do contact me direct if you wish to book a room for your future stay and we will certainly ensure that your breakfast experience is second to none.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Service was great here, really nice reception girls, food was reasonable as well.. Internet wasn't bad.
Had room 503 which overlooked the pitch, so I've paid for seats at a footy match and been further away so that was good... And all in all worth a 4 out of 5... Would stay again, maybe a tad pricey but hey ho

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Ravingeddie, I'm delighted that overall you had an excellent stay with us at Holiday Inn Norwich City and thanks for your kind words about reception team - I will pass this on and I know they will be made up.

Everyone will be disappointed that we missed out on getting 5*s and thought that our rates were slight high, please do contact us direct for your future stay as we will guarantee you best price.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very close to supermarket, outlets, cinema, bowling and several bars and restaurants. This hotel is not in the main street or city centre hence you will have a good night sleep, no noise, no nonsense. 8 minutes walk from the train station, even though not the best or scenic walk, but you will be near to the river, right by the Football Station, and leisure centre with swimming pool and quite well equipped gym. Although there is a tiny gym in the hotel with treadmill, rowing machines and cross trainer, a mat and a bench with weights. It is great if you feel like to do a quick session, not to miss a day of your gym regime.
Staff is friendly, they remember you if you are returning visitor, the standards are not dropping and constructive suggestions are welcomed by the staff.
When I am in the city, this is the place I call home.

Room Tip: You can choose rooms which has view to the football pitch, a unique way of watching a live match!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi suzie b,

Thank you for a fantastic review, I am very pleased to hear that you have found home away from home and the team will be delighted, they all work very hard to try and ensure every guest leaves us feeling they have had great service.

I look forward to meet you in person during your next home visit!! See you soon.

Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had room 622 Executive room, large comfortable room with pillow choice, spotless & clean good selection of coffee/tea/hot chocolate, bathroom again spotless & well stocked, bottled water (still & sparkling) mini bar empty so stuck some beer in it (that I took) in all a good standard room, had night in Norwich, so cannot comment on bar/restaurant in the evening, slept so well nearly as good as home, so quite & comfy, breakfast is the normal buffet style & a very good standard, there is a menu on table if you fancy something cooked to order. In all a good hotel at a good price. Back rooms in Hotel overlooks the Norwich City FC pitch, Worth every penny. Well done Hoilday inn. Staff so friendly.

Room Tip: See if can stretch to 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ray O,

We are so grateful for all our guests who take the time to leave us their opinions. I am so pleased to read that you found all aspects of your stay such a positive experience. Making our guests feel comfortable and well cared for is our highest priority.

Thank you once again for your review and we shall look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

And the character was a guy called Bill.
I had booked the hotel for its location and good value. (£70 B&B for 2)
Parking is ample. The room was a twin with 2 double beds! Spotless!
We came back in at around 10.15 pm and asked Bill for a couple of sarnies and a bottle of wine.
He asked about our visit, got us a map and highlighted all the places not to miss.
What a pleasure he was! Thank you, Bill for making our one-night stay a great experience.
Another friendly person was a taxi driver we ordered. He was more like a tour guide.
Absolutely impressed with beautiful Norwich and its friendly people.

Room Tip: You can even book a room overlooking the football ground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLYINGVIZIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review FLYINGVIZIT. It gives everybody involved with the operation great pride to read such kind words regarding the high level of service we offer to all of our guests.

It seems we exceeded all of your expectations on this visit so thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Excellent value for money @ £85 per night advance purchase. Room was great with two massive double beds. Front desk staff were superb especially Valentina. Will definitely stay here again. Great location both for the football ground and the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review PETEREVO123. I was pleased to read that all aspects of your stay were excellent and that you had a memorable stay. I will certainly ensure that these comments are forwarded onto the front desk team and certainly Valentina.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing