We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$80
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveler rating
493
402
122
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
402
122
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfootball pitchcarrow roadnorwich citypitch viewfootball fansmatch dayspitch sidefootball clubtwo double bedsfootball matchretail parkexecutive roomcar parkreception staffmodern hotelper nighttrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Arrived and impressed by the hotel smart and clean the rooms were very clean and a good size. There was a view of the pitch as well. The bed and the furiture were comfortable and good size bathroom.
Very good to come into when its cold and wet outside. Staff were friendly and breakfasts had sokme good selections to choose from.
All made for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Carpark at rear of hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We work hard on maintaining the highest standard in our bedrooms and it is always good to get positive feedback. We have over 30 bedrooms which have a full four corner pitch view, which can be booked directly with the hotel, meaning you can watch a premiership game from the comfort of your bedroom. It also means you can join in with the atmosphere of the football by having one of our hugely popular Match Day carveries. We also offer Executive rooms and suites which include many extras from dressing gowns, chocolate, bottled water and much more. The team at the hotel has been working together pretty much since the doors opened so they have fantastic knowledge of the best pitch views and much more. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Firstly I am Holiday Inn / IHG regular and spend way too much time in their hotels, this is a newish hotel when compared to others that I have stayed in. The hotel is built in to the football club, a short taxi ride or 5 minute walk from the station. Staff are exceptionally friendly and will go out of their way to help.

For such a new build there are a few things that let the hotel down:
1. Maintenance - there were a few examples whereby poor maintenance practice were visible such as bathroom sealant going mouldy, TV not working very well, curtains hanging incorrectly etc. all relatively minor but indicate a lack of attention to detail
2. No in room wifi - there is a WLAN cable in the room but this is restrictive, it is 2014 so unsure why there is no wifi in guest rooms! There is wifi in the lobby / bar area.
3. Room keys continually re-set despite staying over multiple evenings which is just a hassle
4. TV - the TV system is old, outdated with the strangest range of channels.

These issues are relatively minor in the grand scheme of things but when staying in a hotel for an extended period they become increasing frustrating as this hotel has so much potential!!

The breakfast is very good, with a selection of hot and cold dishes. The homemade potato rosti's are fantastic.

I would recommend this hotel to others but hope that the hotel owners read my review as they have the potential two to make this property excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get pitch view! Some 6th floor rooms have noise from the roof air com units.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieladinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel, and by the sound of it you stay in many hotels. The hotel’s location is an asset to the hotel. Many of our rooms have a full four corner pitch view, which means you can watch a premiership game from your bedroom. Like you mentioned we are just a short taxi ride away from the station, and there are always black cabs available outside the front of the station. Or we are just a short walk away and you can actually see the hotel as you come into the station.

I have passed on your concerns with regards to maintenance to the team member who will investigate. WI FI is currently in the process of being fitted into the hotel, which will be fantastic for all our guests.

Our buffet breakfast has so much choice and caters for every taste so I am glad you enjoyed this, as it is the most important meal of the day.

I have of course taken all your concerns on board, and would like to assure you that we are constantly adjusting and improving to ensure we maintain the highest standard.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the best value Holiday Inn I've stayed in. It's built into the infrastructure of Norwich City FC and some of the rooms overlook the pitch, but you don't have to be there for football to appreciate this hotel.

We stayed on a Friday evening and so benefitted from a discounted prepaid rate and everything about the hotel was excellent. A large room with two double beds, nicely designed and equipped bathroom, but above all the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, many of whom have been at the hotel for several years and clearly take pride in their hotel.

The hotel is about a mile from the city centre but is much closer to Norwich's Riverside retail and entertainment development. It's therefore well placed whatever the purpose of your visit.

One observation: breakfast didn't quite match the hotel's quality elsewhere but I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB27952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really do have a unique location and over 30 of our rooms have a full four corner pitch view, which you can book directly with the hotel, meaning you can watch home football games from the comfort of your bedroom.
As you mentioned, the hotel is more than just its location, as the property is only seven years old so all the bedrooms are still of the highest standard, and well equipped. We plenty of different room types available including standards, Executives and suites.
Across the road in the Riverside retail park is the leisure centre where we provide free access for all the family in the swimming pool, which is very popular.
It is a shame that you found the breakfast quality did not match the hotel’s quality. We continually change and improve our breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day, we offer a full buffet breakfast, plus a specials menu but we always welcome feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night and the location is very good. For football fans it is ideal as it looks out over Carrow Road football grounds. We've stayed at the Holiday Inn in Lincoln and been very satisfied with it overall. This hotel room was very clean and modern. As usual you get two firm pillows and two soft to choose from. No complaints at all. Our sleep was disturbed by the usual idiots you get in hotels who don't know how to behave or be considerate of other guests. Arriving back at 3.30am/4.30 am and slamming doors and talking loudly in the corridors. This of course is not the hotel's fault. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. As you mentioned the location is great for football fans and the view is really unique. You can guarantee a full 4corner pitch view directly with the hotel which means you can watch the football from your bedroom. We work hard to maintain the bedroom standards and offer many different room types from standards, pitch views, executives and suites. It is always worth calling the hotel to find out more about the different room types on offer. It is a shame that you were disturb by other guests, but I am glad that you would recommend us in the future. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a good hotel in the centre of Norwich. We were amazed to have a view of the football ground - only a corner so could not watch a match but it was interesting to see the preparations starting at 7am for a game.
We were going to a party held in the function rooms at the ground so this hotel was ideal - just next door. We have in the past also been to Delhia's restaurant at the ground which is very good.
Breakfast was buffet and some food to order fresh - good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the football ground.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndac00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review about our hotel. The views of the football ground are fantastic, and you can also book a full 4corner pitch view direct with the hotel, which means you can watch the game from the comfort of your bedroom. As we are located by the football ground, we are a great location if you are attending a function at the football club as you can walk to the event in a matter of seconds. We offer a full buffet breakfast which offers many items and a great way to start your day. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews