We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here Fri and Sat over Easter.

The hotel is conveniently located to visit Norwich. Easy 20min walk to centre and also a good base to visit the Norfolk area.

They kindly gave us a room overlooking the Norwich FC which was a novelty in itself. I guess there would be extra cost if there was a game on, but would be an experience.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean.

The only major disappointment for me is that there is no wifi in the room. We were advised that we could connect using a cable which is a bit old fashioned and impossible with smart phones and ipads. Also i think there is an extra charge for this.

We used the internet in the lobby and this worked fine. Note that you need to get a user name and password from reception which are valid for 24hours.

We had a few drinks at the bar which were reasonable priced and had a nice atmosphere. The hotel does get busy with locals for dinner and drinks.

The hotel has a parking area - part of the football grounds parking - but the second night this was packed when we got back and we were told to park outside the hotel on the yellow lines. There is a nightly charge for parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twanny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comment on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Our impressive pitch view rooms are part of our great room product that we are very proud of. Our Housekeeping team has just won a prestigious award for continues great consistency in cleanliness and product maintenance. We offer free Wi Fi in our large lobby and lounge area as part of our drive to add value to your stay. The Wi Fi in the rooms is currently being reviewed as part of our commitment to improve services to our guest. We always strive to make sure our pricing is based on value for the customer and this is reflected in our beverage and food valuing. Our parking policy has been designed to make it as hassle free for our customers as possible with a very reasonable overnight parking rate and advance booked front of house spacing. Again I thank you for your positive review and am looking forward to welcoming you back to our great hotel. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    367
    112
    23
    13
See reviews for
169
329
56
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had to stay in Norwich overnight on a work trip and based on previous Holiday Inn experience decided to stay here and I was not disappointed, and was impressed.

I always think that a good indication of a hotel is the welcome at reception on arrival, and I have to say the staff were outstanding, a genuine welcome makes a good impression and indicates quality.

Our room was very good well kept, well maintained and very comfortable. Deciding to eat out there was plenty to choose from within very easy waking distance, whether chain restaurant or something a little more local.
The riverside location would seem to offer much to explore and would make a really good place as a base for a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are glad to see our hard work in welcome and first impressions are generating such good feedback. I have related this to the staff. Our lactation is a key to our success as a City based hotel and the Riverside is a convenient walk away from our front door. We trust that we will be welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of March, as we were visiting friends in Norwich. We both went to university here so are familiar with the city. We chose the Holiday Inn having never stayed in one before, based on the price and the easy walk into the city.
We found the car park very easily, and after a brief wait, we were booked in by the incredibly friendly lady at the counter (didn't catch her name, but she was lovely). Our room was warm and cosy, nicely furnished and clean. I've seen some complaints here about the sound of the heating (we had it on full the whole time- it snowed a lot over the weekend!) and the best noise I can compare it to is the quiet hiss of a kettle as it starts to heat up- vaguely noticeable, but definitely not offensive or loud enough to keep us awake!
The only (very minor) improvements I could suggest- a heater in the bathroom would be lovely- only a problem when it's as bitterly cold as it was that weekend, but the shower wasn't super powerful enough to mean I wasn't a little chilly. Also, a little more tea and coffee, sugar and milk in the room would be great, but it was very easy to go down to reception to grab some more.
All in all, a good value stay in a very comfortable room. We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaA182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good morning Sirs. Welcome back to Norwich and we are pleased that you chose the Holiday Inn Norwich City as your hotel of choice. Thank for your positive comments. We benefit from a great location with the City and Riverside complex just a short walk away. I am partially pleased to hear that our warm reception welcome has been so well received.
We are at present reviewing our noise levels in regards to the Air-conditioning units and I am glad that you found it not too intrusive. The cold weather has forced our systems to do extra time substantiating your comments regarding the heating in bathroom. Thank you for your observations about our bedroom coffee and tea accompaniments. We always note these for brand compliance improvements.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards. Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed just for one night as meeting up with family at Riverside. We found the staff very friendly. We had a lovely view of the pitch. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

One grumble, you have to pay to watch the television when most hotels we have stayed at offer if free of charge.

We would definately stay here again.

I only gave this a 4 as we did not experience the restaurant during our stay.

Room Tip: Only a five minute walk to the Riverside complex, situated far enough from the noise of the nightclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sirs. Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We, at the Holiday Inn Norwich City appreciate our excellent location with the Riverside and City access walking distance away. I have relayed your positive remarks about our staff friendliness and room condition to our teams and they thank you in return for the comments. We have a selection of free terrestrial TV channels that also include Skye Sports and other popular channels for your entertainment. We also offer a selection of Pay per view movies that comes with a standard charge for viewing. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to us. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had stayed in the HI Norwich City in a pitch-facing room before, which was fine. In our two street-facing rooms this time, the loud howling sound coming from the windows at night suggested force 9 or 10 gales. On opening the windows, however, we found that the wind was only moderate, and the noise was gone, too. So it is just shoddy windows, which, unfortunately, we could not leave open due to freezing temperatures. Reception staff evasive and unapologetic, mumbling something about adverse weather conditions, even though the problem must have been brought to their attention numerous times. Breakfast in the morning among the most unappetizing I have seen.

Room Tip: Pitch-facing only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good day Sirs, Firstly I would like to apologise for your need to write such a review. We, at the Holiday Inn Norwich City, have a great reputation when the occasional guest service issue arises. However, I am very disappointed that you feel that our customer recovery service has not dealt with your concerns in this instance. I have read your concern about the noise and I can confirm that we had unusually high wind turbulence during your particular stay. The hotel is a relatively new build with modern facilities, but my maintenance manager is investigating your complaint about the window. Your comments about the reception staff have been shared with the respected manager as we always use any feedback to improve our customer service. Our breakfast menu and food quality meets the highest standards for which the Holiday Inn is renowned. It includes 74 items as per standard which the majority of our guests regard as satisfactory. Finally, I would like to invite you to discuss this further. I hope you would be so kind as to contact me directly Quinton.oshea@kewgreen.co.uk as the opinion of our guests who stay with us is taken very seriously and we aim to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests. Regards, Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night for work. Good location for Norwich train station and city centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance. There's a shopping outlet opposite the hotel too.
If you're a fan of the canaries it's ideal as some rooms have a pitch view.
The hotel is fairly new so is in good condition. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice perk is that you have all sky sports channels in the room. Low point - basic toiletries and no wifi in the rooms.
Breakfast was good, staff were cheery.
Overall not bad at all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Good day sirs. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Yes we are very fortunate to have a key location near the City and Riverside entertainment centre and Norwich City Football Club. I am also pleased to hear that our staff are being recognized for there attitude towards friendly service. I will also take your comments about our bathroom toiletries and Wi Fi in rooms availability onboard for discussion with our brand team as part of our commitment to service improvement. Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. It was modern, comfortable and quiet. I did not eat an evening meal here but breakfast was very good. What made it stand out was the friendliness of the staff both at reception and in the bar. Amazing view of Norwich city's pitch from my room. Will be staying here again next time I'm in Norwich. Only quibble, which wouldn't cause me to mark hotel down is the lack of wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pitch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Good day sirs. Thank you for your patronage and positive comments in regards to your stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Our location and staff are a valuable asset to our brand. I therefore will take your comments about the reception welcome further so we can improve all aspects of our delivery. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and hope to welcome you back for another good nights sleep. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing