We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. It was modern, comfortable and quiet. I did not eat an evening meal here but breakfast was very good. What made it stand out was the friendliness of the staff both at reception and in the bar. Amazing view of Norwich city's pitch from my room. Will be staying here again next time I'm in Norwich. Only quibble, which wouldn't cause me to mark hotel down is the lack of wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pitch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Good day sirs. Thank you for your patronage and positive comments in regards to your stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Our location and staff are a valuable asset to our brand. I therefore will take your comments about the reception welcome further so we can improve all aspects of our delivery. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and hope to welcome you back for another good nights sleep. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    353
    106
    23
    12
See reviews for
160
316
55
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Used this hotel whilst attending a function at the adjoining Football Club. Delivers exactly what is needed from a central city hotel. Reception staff could do with a smile but apart from that no complaints for this type of hotel. Good quite place to get your head down for a night...........

Room Tip: Pitch facing on a match day might be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrotman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and its great to hear that the hotel provided exactly what you needed from it. It’s unusual about the reception team and this is something that has not been commented on before, so I can assure this is a rare occurrence as they excel in many guests surveys on how friendly and welcoming the team are..

All reviews are always shared with the team to make sure we constantly improve our customer service and experience, so thank you again and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have just had 2 nights at this hotel and I have to say the staff at check in, the bar and restaurant were all first class. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable.
It is only a 10 to 15 minute walk into the city.
I would definitely stay again if I was visiting Norwich

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sirs. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay and your valued business. It is rewarding to receive these positive comments and further proves the dedication of our training programs and service culture. Our location to the City Centre is one of our many our strong selling points. I am Looking forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Quinton O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful; room was a good size,modern and warm on a very cold evening. After a late night out in the city it was very welcoming. The room was very quiet even though we were next to the lift. Also had a nice en-suite with plenty of hot water. It had a terrific view of Norwich City Football pitch,had there been a game we may have stayed! We didn't have time to eat in the restaurant but had a snack at the bar which was filling but average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good afternoon Sirs. Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very proud of our work in regards to room comfort, with Italian Bath fittings, Pillow menus and regular mattress upgrades to keep our guest as convertible as possible. We have also had the honour of having our Housekeeping team winning a significant award for cleaning and room maintenance standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

As a hotel specialising in accommodating people on business trips it is now unacceptable to not offer free wifi in all rooms. Yes It is free on ground floor but that doesn't meet everyone's needs. C'mon guys wifi is not a luxury it is essential to the modern business traveller.
Don't get me wrong, everything else about this hotel is acceptable. Food, rooms, location and price are all ok. It is clean and rooms are a good size.
You are just behind the times. Could you personally accept not having access to the Internet for a few days a week when you are living away from home?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good afternoon Sirs. Firstly thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. I would also like to thank you for your acknowledgement of our service standards and location benefits. Your comments regarding the lack of Wi Fi in the rooms will now be taken forward in discussion to our investors and management team to action accordingly. We always listen to our guest comments as part of our commitment to improve service and facilities to the best standard we can achieve. I am looking forward to welcoming you again to our establishment Kind Regards Quinton O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The purpose of my visit was business, and I found the staff very helpful and very welcoming. This was my first visit to this particular hotel, although I had visited Norwich on many occasions in the past.
As a result of this stay I intend to make this my hotel of choice when visiting Norwich.
They say that first impressions are the strongest, and in this case the reception staff made me feel extremely welcome, and I have never forgotten how nice it was to arrive here.
Bar and restaurant were similarly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and its great to hear how friendly and welcoming the team was. It’s really good to hear that you will be making us your hotel of choice.

First impressions are so important and it’s so nice to hear how the reception team made you feel welcome. The team members on reception have worked together for many years and have won two awards for “reception team of the year” and they strive to make sure the guests are welcomed into what we believe is a fantastic hotel.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review as the team really appreciate feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to take in the Norwich v Saints football game. The room was superb and had we realised how good the view of the pitch would be we would have saved the cost of the match tickets. In spite of the place being packed after the football match Holly and Nimrit made sure that we were looked after perfectly. All staff were very pleasant and made the stay a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Won't hesitate to return another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pitch if it is relevant as the other side of the hotel will look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonestrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments with regards to Holly and Nimrit. Last year Nimrit was our “employee of the year 2012” due to his fantastic service so this has pleased him to read these comments.

To be able to watch the game from the bedroom in the warmth, but still having the atmosphere of the game is great and highly recommended by many of the guests that have booked these rooms, and it’s certainly a great asset to the hotel.

We do look forward to you returning to us and we really appreciate your review.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing