We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No wifi...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No wifi...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

As a hotel specialising in accommodating people on business trips it is now unacceptable to not offer free wifi in all rooms. Yes It is free on ground floor but that doesn't meet everyone's needs. C'mon guys wifi is not a luxury it is essential to the modern business traveller.
Don't get me wrong, everything else about this hotel is acceptable. Food, rooms, location and price are all ok. It is clean and rooms are a good size.
You are just behind the times. Could you personally accept not having access to the Internet for a few days a week when you are living away from home?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good afternoon Sirs. Firstly thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. I would also like to thank you for your acknowledgement of our service standards and location benefits. Your comments regarding the lack of Wi Fi in the rooms will now be taken forward in discussion to our investors and management team to action accordingly. We always listen to our guest comments as part of our commitment to improve service and facilities to the best standard we can achieve. I am looking forward to welcoming you again to our establishment Kind Regards Quinton O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    349
    106
    23
    12
See reviews for
158
312
54
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The purpose of my visit was business, and I found the staff very helpful and very welcoming. This was my first visit to this particular hotel, although I had visited Norwich on many occasions in the past.
As a result of this stay I intend to make this my hotel of choice when visiting Norwich.
They say that first impressions are the strongest, and in this case the reception staff made me feel extremely welcome, and I have never forgotten how nice it was to arrive here.
Bar and restaurant were similarly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and its great to hear how friendly and welcoming the team was. It’s really good to hear that you will be making us your hotel of choice.

First impressions are so important and it’s so nice to hear how the reception team made you feel welcome. The team members on reception have worked together for many years and have won two awards for “reception team of the year” and they strive to make sure the guests are welcomed into what we believe is a fantastic hotel.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review as the team really appreciate feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to take in the Norwich v Saints football game. The room was superb and had we realised how good the view of the pitch would be we would have saved the cost of the match tickets. In spite of the place being packed after the football match Holly and Nimrit made sure that we were looked after perfectly. All staff were very pleasant and made the stay a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Won't hesitate to return another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pitch if it is relevant as the other side of the hotel will look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonestrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments with regards to Holly and Nimrit. Last year Nimrit was our “employee of the year 2012” due to his fantastic service so this has pleased him to read these comments.

To be able to watch the game from the bedroom in the warmth, but still having the atmosphere of the game is great and highly recommended by many of the guests that have booked these rooms, and it’s certainly a great asset to the hotel.

We do look forward to you returning to us and we really appreciate your review.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in a pitchside room for the Everton v Norwich match. This is the third time we have stayed in the hotel and staff as always friendly and welcoming. Large room and spotlessly clean. Breakfast large choicenand although very busy seated quickly . this hotel is a short walk into Norwich which is a lovely city. it also has plenty of parking even on match days. If you are a football fan the pitchside rooms are amazing excellent view of the pitch and you really feel part of the atmosphere. The staff even arranged or a Norwich win( sadly not a common occurence this season). Would throughly recommend this hotel and wouldnt stay anyhere else in the city as it may not be a boutique hotel but the prices and the staff make it such a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: pitchside view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and its great to hear that this is your third visit with us. The team are what makes the hotel, and going that extra mile like making Norwich win is one of the many things they take pride in…..(If only we could control the results).

Breakfast is always busy at the weekends and we are pleased to hear that you were seated quickly and enjoyed the many choices.

Parking is always busy on a match day but we always ensure we get our customers parked so they are ready to go and enjoy the game or pop into the city.

We are very lucky to have rooms which look over the football pitch, and it’s so unique. The pitch side rooms are very popular on a match day and like you said the atmosphere is amazing whether you enjoy football or not.

Your review is very much appreciated by all of the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon, and hopefully another great result from the football team.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel isn't bad, especially if you want to visit the football stadium or Delia Smiths restaurant. The view from our room (101) looked directly over the football pitch. The hotel is quite modern and clean. From a toiletries perspective in the bathroom they are well behind what the Hilton chain offers. The staff were very nice, and parking was £4.95 per night. Overall we quite liked it - but it is not in as good a location for central Norwich shops and bars as some other places at similar prices. 'The Nelson' is better in this respect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review about our hotel, the rooms with the pitch views are excellent and on a match day the atmosphere is electric.

I'm sorry you did not like our toiletries it's the first time anybody has mentioned them before but your comments have been noted and I will forward them on to the people who source our bathroom products.

The team are superb and always go that extra mile to ensure that all of our guests have a stay to remember so thank you very much for mentioning them in your review.

People have mixed views about our distance to the city and whilst the Nelson is closer It is a limited service property and does suffer from noise problems on weekend nights due to its proximity to Prince of Wales Road, we are approximately 10 to 15 minutes walk from the city centre depending which way you go and which bridge you take over the river, the next time you stay take the first bridge by the sports centre and you'll be in John Lewis in just over ten minutes.

Thank you again for your review its much appreciated by us all and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at 12, 2hrs before check-in and our room was ready ! reception staff very friendly and helpful. arrived in the room which had 2 double beds in lovely clean bathroom and clean bedding have stayed in holiday inn in london and this one was 100% better will def stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel it's fantastic that all of our hard work continues to pay off.

We will always try whenever possible to get people checked in as soon as they arrive and sometimes we'll be checking guests in at 9.00am, if the room is ready you're more than welcome to have it, a good tip is to call the hotel the night before to find out if they are full, if they're not then you should be able to check in early the next day, it works at our place anyway!

We get many comments about the cleanliness and condition of our bedrooms and bathrooms and considering the hotel is now 6 years old it's a testament to Karen and her team of housekeepers as to how well they look after everything, Karen is always very happy when her rooms are mentioned!

All of the team go out of their way to ensure our guests have a stay to remember so thanks for mentioning how friendly everybody was, we recently won the "Great Hotels Guest Love" award for Europe from Intercontinental hotels which is voted for by the public through the guest questionnaires sent via email after a stay, we are as you can imagine all very proud of this and feedback like yours reinforces we are still getting it right.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
249 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a pitch view room on 4th floor. Room was very nice, with two double beds, well located for the ice machine and the lift. Staff were really helpful and friendly. We arrived late on the first night and opted for room service. The food arrived promptly and was delicious. (We did have a minor problem with the order but this was rectified quickly and efficiently).

Norwich is a beautiful city and well worth exploring. The hotel reception gave us a great map and advice on the best things to see. The hotel is just a short walk into Norwich through a retail park and along the riverbank. The retail park has a Morrisons, Boots, Next etc. A little bit further on there is an entertainment complex with bars, restaurants, a cinema and bowling alley.

Breakfast was lovely. You could ask for poached or fried eggs, an omelette or pancakes which were cooked to order. The staff in the restaurant were really friendly and made us most welcome every morning (even Sunday, which was very busy).

The pitch view room was brilliant (shame the result wasn't - Norwich won 2-1).

In summary, this is a great hotel, the staff all are very friendly and welcoming. Especially at reception and in the restaurant. We even had a lovely chat to the maid who spoke very little English. The location is excellent for both historic Norwich and the local entertainment area. As it forms a corner of the ground you could not get a better location for Norwich City Football Club.

We enjoyed it so much we are looking forward to retuning again soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jiddyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your super review about our hotel, I'm delighted you had such a great stay we will have to disagree on the score I'm afraid but it was a superb game!

You're so right about the city it's a beautiful place to visit and there is so much to see and do I'll bet you only saw half of what you wanted to see in the four days you had with us. Try and come back again in the summer as you'll also have the amazing North Norfolk coast to explore and the Broads National Park both easily accessible by road or train from the hotel, both are really well worth visiting.

Breakfast is excellent and I'm pleased to see you tried the different egg selections and pancakes cooked fresh to order all of which are well worth the wait.

Our rooms are much bigger than people expect and all of our twins are double doubles so there's plenty of room for two adults or two adults and two children making it a very reasonable place to stay during half term holidays.

As you mentioned we have many amenities close by and the city is only a short walk away so it's a win win situation all round.

Your review is very much appreciated by all of us and we look forward to seeing you again soon and perhaps next time the full time score will run in your favour!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing