We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Back after a 2 year gap. Great to see that the same Staff at reception and as last time so very very helpful but also efficient and friendly so nice to be greeted with how nice to see you again also bar and resturant staff so heplful, when we left saying we look forward to seeing you again.
we will be back in the new year Bus service just across the road into town just ask reception for the bus number but if your lost in town people will ask if they can help don't get that in London.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and it is great to hear that you have returned to us after 2years and found the staff helpful and friendly. Our hotel prides itself on our team, and many team members have been here since the hotel opened its door’s. We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year and I will make sure all your kind comments are passed onto the team.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    360
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
320
56
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stay here on a fairly frequent basis and have never had anything but a clean, well equipped room. Some are better than others, a view of the pitch is always nice as are the suites at the end of the corridors. They also recognise IHG status which isn't always the case at other holiday inns I've been at.

Staff at the reception are always very helpful but also efficient and friendly. The food is ok to good and certainly better than my expectations for this type of hotel. Breakfast is always of a high quality.

The hotel itself is about a five minute walk from the train station. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_England_Sjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you stay regularly with us and enjoy your stays. It’s nice to hear that you have experienced both the pitch view rooms and suites and found them clean and well equipped. It’s always good to hear that the reception team is efficient and friendly. We have also now inputted a new menu for the evenings, which is definitely worth trying. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice hotel but rather overpriced . My company paid £160 for one night at the weekend for an excecutive room which I thought was scandalous . It is a lovely hotel nice rooms decent service but vastly overpriced .

Room Tip: Try the Premier Inn at the airport and save lots of cash !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelystarAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and its nice to hear that you felt the hotel has nice rooms and good service. I am sorry that you felt that your stay was overpriced. The executive rooms do come at a supplement but do feature a lot of extras including complimentary Internet access, luxury toiletries, robe, iPod dock, safe, mini bar, mineral water, kit kat, magazine and hot chocolate. Our rates are constantly reviewed and many factors are taken into consideration. We do offer many specials deals particularly over the weekends so it is always worth calling the hotel to find out if there are any offers in place.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked this hotel as we were attending a function at the football ground. The staff were extremely polite & helpful & let us check into our room at 1pm. Did find the room well appointed & sky sports was free in the room. Had a quick drink before we went out in the evening which was expensive & the beer on offer was limited.
Found the bed OK but not as comfortable as the Premier Inn, Air conditioning was very noisy & woke us both. Shower was fine.
Had complimentary breakfast included in deal which was very good, although we were seated miles away from the buffet.
Also charge £4.95 to use their car park.
Fortunately we booked through Avios & got a cracking deal, otherwise it's about twice the price of the Premier Inn by the station plus parking charge.
The only problem booking through Avios was that I couldn't retrospectively add my points to the loyalty card.

Room Tip: Compare prices with the Premier Inn by the station before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you found the staff polite and helpful and that they were able to accommodate an early check-in which they will always endeavour to do if available. It’s a shame that you did not feel the bed was as comfortable as the other hotel mentioned, which is unusual as we use the Hypnos brand which is used all over the world. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and many of our guests mention breakfast is a firm favorite for them.

It is always worth calling the hotel for special offers as we do offer deals throughout the year, and if you book directly with us your loyalty points will get added giving you an extra bonus when your points add up to make free hotel stays.

It's really important to all of us that people give us their feedback as without it we cannot measure how we're doing, so thank you once again for your comments they are much appreciated by me and all of the team.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here on a Sunday evening after travelling down to see the canaries v stoke on the Saturday, greeted by a very friendly receptionist, our room had a view of the entire carrow road pitch which was heaven for a football anorak! The room was fantastic, big and comfortable, and the brekkie next morning was superb, you even get a complimentary copy of the Norwich evening news and EDP so you can read the match report! Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, not too far from city centre as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and its good to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I loved the way you describe the pitch view rooms as “Heaven” as this did put a smile on my face and know they are a firm favorite with many of our guests. I am glad you found the rooms big and comfortable and of course breakfast is always a firm favorite for our hotel with over 50items on offer it starts the morning off well for all of our guests.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review we all really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed twice recently this September and November and enjoyed it both times.
It's well situated close to the city centre 10 - 15 mins along the pleasant riverside walk which takes you straight to the beautiful cathedral area. On the way there are quite a number pubs and restaurants so you can pop in for a drink or meal. The hotel is far enough away from the centre though to be peaceful and quiet at night.
The rooms are a good size with modern clean facilities, comfy beds etc. The hotel backs on to Norwich city football ground and you can pay extra for a room overlooking the pitch. We watched Norwich play Liverpool. Amazing.
Breakfast is really good and sets you up for the day. Parking is very convenient next to the hotel and less than £5 per day.
Customer service seemed really good. Pleasant friendly staff. For example I slept so well on my pillows (there is a choice of pillows to suit you) they let me buy them.
We will return because they make us feel welcome and comfortable and it's within easy reach of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The advantage of being able to watch Liverpool from the pitch view room is unique for the hotel and our guests and it’s good to hear that it was amazing. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and I am happy that you felt the staff were friendly and good. With the pillow choice menu it enables our guests to pick their preferred option and it’s nice to know they were so good that you brought them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and making your stay as enjoyable as this one.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice hotel and nice rooms, its about 15 minutes from the city but its an easy walk via the shopping centre, the local shopping centre has bars, cinema, restaurants etc so everything you need for a night out without needing to go back into the city.

Nice city and nice visit, 4.95 for parking but thats not to bad. thought this might be free for platinum members but it wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you had a nice stay with us and found the location convenient for shopping and a night out. It is always good to hear great feedback and all comments are passed onto the team. I am sorry about the charge for the car park but this is an area that is not controlled by the hotel, but I am glad it did not affect your stay.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing