We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly , good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly , good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very helpful person on Checkin (Nick) good location attached to Norwich football stadium, and ten mins walk to train station. Good footpaths all the way. Clean rooms and in room safe. Easy wall to anywhere in Norwich for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Check there is no football match on as it is connected to the pitch ( rooms overlook the ground so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cebbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks for your review and for mentioning Nick from the front desk he's really pleased he was able to help you.

We are in a great location and with the station so close by it allows our guests the freedom to jump on the train and head for the North Norfolk coast without the hassle of the car if they wish to do so, so a win win situation. We can also get the open top sight seeing bus to stop at the hotel and pick guests up bear that in mind on your next visit and lets hope its a bit sunnier!

Thanks again for your comments they are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    349
    106
    23
    12
See reviews for
158
312
54
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
570 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Loved the central location of this hotel with views across the pitch. Rooms are excellent and the breakfast is fabulous !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobsterWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to send in your review. The rooms are fantastic and the pitch views are superb well worth a little bit extra.

Thanks also for your comments regarding breakfast it is really good and with over 52 items to choose from it's great value for money. Hope to see you again next time you're visiting Norwich and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked this as it was near to the town and was not disappointed. Enede up having luch there and was so impressed with the quality of the food that had our evening meal there too. Not the quickest service but food worth the wait, great kids menu. Our hotel room was really clean and the staff we dealt with were very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: There are also rooms overlooking the football pitch if you are a Norwich fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Really happy that we changed your opinion of Holiday Inn and thank you for your review.

All of our food is cooked from fresh useing where possible local produce. So many people think all of our meals are frozen and finished in a microwave and this is simply not the case as I'm so pleased you've pointed out.

We often have "Specials" running alongside our core menu which allows our chef's to be creative and gives our guests really great choices.

Thanks again for your comments the team and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and we hope you can get back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights there for the Norwich v Man City game. Staff were very friendly. Nice touch of a complimentary drink and curry on check in. Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Excellent breakfast. We will definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank guest2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thanks for your review and your great feedback. We offer a welcome desk when we have a busy check-in which as you know on Friday was well over 100. It gives me the chance to personally welcome every guest to the hotel (I was the chap serving it) and of course you got the result you wanted! Breakfast is great glad you pointed it out we offer over 52 items on our buffet well worth a visit!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon and thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just spent a short stay at holiday inns norwich city fc.and can not praise all the staff who worked so hard to make our stay so relaxed.How plesant it was to meet so many helpful and smiling face people.on arrival at reception we where greeted by Ashleigh what a breath of fresh air this staff member was so friendly and helpful its not very common in this day and age .we can not give this hotel enough praise that they deserve .Well done to all.Look forward to staying with you again.
regards R Burton

Room Tip: All rooms first class .but if you like to watch football through the window go for room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burtonr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. Ashleigh is chuffed to bits with his mention and it is well deserved as it is for all of the team as our hotel has just won Hotel of the Year, Front Office team of the year and Contract Cleaning team of the year for our housekeeping department. I will be passing your review on to every department and I hope you can get back to see us again soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the MCFC v Norwich game. Overall happy with the hotel - parking was cheap as chips, £5 overnight. Brilliantly handy for the football ground, and super friendly staff. A couple of minor niggles - the bed was a bit hard for me, and the bar didn't really have enough staff on before the game so I struggled to get ore game beers. Other than that though I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return. Plus city ended up winning so it must be a lucky hotel!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank I-like-lamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. Sorry you found the bed a bit hard but if you let us know you're coming on your next visit we'll find you a room with a softer bed.

Match days can be very busy and on this particular day we had a large number of people arrive at the same time which did cause a bit of a delay on getting people served but it's certainly something we're looking at for future games.

I'm sure you're delighted with the result I don't think the residents of Norfolk share your thoughts on that one though!

Thanks again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Courteous staff, an unexpected upgrade to a large room with two double beds, a full view of the pitch being watered on match morning and an excellent breakfast for £100. This represents very good value, even in the provinces. One tiny point: the tables are too small for two people to comfortably eat breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jukeboxcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and I was delighted you liked your pitch view room and the upgrade you got on check-in.

Take onboard your comments about the tables if you have everything we offer on breakfast then tables can become a bit cluttered. If we have tables set up in the bar as an overspill from the restaurant on your next visit ask to be seated at one of them they are much bigger.

Thank you once again for your review its much appreciated and shared with all members of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing