We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“besiktas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“besiktas”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visit this hotel my partner birthday celebration 11 January saturday night, we been last year and such a good meal however not this year at all.Firstly when l book table to the reception l mention my parner birthday and really l want good night. When we arrival to restaurant quiet busy bar area and not much staff and l can see staff run much they can do. Service details and attention what we get very disappointed for casual meal thats fine not for special occasions.food starters fish plater salmon middle raw l didnt eat however nice mussel's & main course both order steak nicely cook however chips not triple cook.....also not dress code in restaurant sport shoes, tisort.... after all we dont want any dessert.Nice hotel , last year we are very enjoyed and have to say not this year...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besiktas1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manger at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your review...I'm would like to apologise in the delay in getting back to you.

I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your recent meal with us...very disappointed to read you didn't think the service was acceptable

I see you've been with us and had a very special meal..please give us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    183
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
71
348
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my partner over the Christmas period we only live 5 miles away but wanted a sneaky getaway somewhere close so we could be waited on and we love our own city. This place is just grand and inviting the service was spot on and friendly people around in abundance. Could of been something to do with the Xmas period but everyone was so warm and interested in a quick chat etc very good value for money. Had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritualseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your review...sorry for the lateness in our response.

We here are all so pleased your had an enjoyable stay. its great to read you found all the staff warm and friendly

Pop back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Absolutely exceptional Christmas lunch. Service excellent, friendly and efficient. The staff immediately put us at ease. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and we enjoyed every course. St Giles House Hotel is a very beautiful venue and I am not surprised to see such good reviews here. Thank you so much, you made our day perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
So pleasing to read your kind words regarding your Christmas Day Lunch, it was a really pleasant day for both our Staff and Guests

Thanks again for your kind words

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was unaware of this place until we went there for a Christmas function, and what a find it is! Within a couple of minutes walk of the Market Place this lovely old building offers large, comfortable and beautifully furnished bedrooms. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful and there is also a decent sized car park , unusual for a hotel so close to a city centre. We paid £130 for bed and breakfast and had no complaints with that. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and offered some variety from the usual Full English. Eggs Benedict are always a welcome offering and they were done to perfection. My wife had poached haddock with poached egg and this too was beautfifully done.
We look forward to our next stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobinS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for your recent review, such kind words

So pleased you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great location, great room with awesome bathroom. Lovely reception staff just shame we got muddled on Sunday night deal. Could do with waiters knowing what you can/ can't have in the evening as a reminder. Don't let this put you off though as minor. Norwich is fab - perfect as City break to get Christmas shopping done without the stress.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for your recent feedback, sorry about the mix up regarding the waiting team

Look forward to seeing your back with us

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a really excellent boutique-style hotel in the heart of Norwich. Rooms are clean, stylish and have some good old fashioned furniture too. Staff were faultless, polite and helpful and the breakfast was good too. There is a car park at the back which was a little hard to get at but easy to get to the hotel once inside. All in all a thoroughly decent hotel, which combines modern touches with period features behind a grand façade about a minutes walk from the market square.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. Its great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will pass on your fantastic feedback to the rest of the team

Hope to see you soon

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked for a one night stay on a Friday and spent Saturday shopping in Norwich City centre, which was a great experience and one I hope to repeat, Norwich is an Impressive City and I can't believe I hadn't thought to go there before!

The Hotel is fantastic, as are all of the Staff we encountered during our short stay. The room was clean, nicely decorated and well appointed with a fabulous shower and facilities. The Bistro is very good and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the price of my booking included a three course dinner, when I thought I was booked on a B&B basis. The quality of the food was superb and very nicely presented, the waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive.

Overall, couldn't be happier and will definitely return to enjoy a slightly longer stay next time and explore this lovely city a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. Its really important to receive feedback this helps us grow as a business.

It also great to read so a positive review. Its great to see you found the service provided by the staff was fantastic. Keep an eye out on our website for some great offers in the new year

Thanks again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
206 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing