We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but all front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good location, but all front”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The best bit about the hotel is the location, really close to the centre of town and with some parking as well. The facade of the building is amazing and the architecture flows through to the reception area and the public rooms right at the front of the hotel, but the remainer of the hotel is a cross between a Holiday Inn Express, a Travelodge or a private guest house. I paid £120 and expected a boutique hotel, but was really disappointed with what I got.

The bistro was empty and has no character when I stayed, the rooms were like a home bedroom with towels on the bed - I do that for my mum, i don't expect it in a hotel anymore.

Overall a shame, so much more could be done with the place. Imagine what Hotel du Vin or something similar could do with a building like that. That's what I was hoping for.

On the plus side, it was clean, quiet and warm, so a decent night's sleep.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ex-seasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you feel this way about St. Giles. We believe that all rooms are individually and tastefully decorated to the highest standard but appreciate that decor is a very personal thing and that we cannot get it right for everybody.

The Georgian part of the hotel is indeed very grand and whilst we have tried to mirror that throughout, you obviously feel that we have not achieved our aim. A hotel chain like Hotel de Vin may well have the wherewithal to make the interior much more luxurious. However, as a privately owned hotel, operating in a difficult financial climate we are proud of the efforts we have made.

It is certainly regrettable that your experience in the bistro led you to view it as ‘empty and characterless’. Unfortunately for you, a Tuesday evening in early January is not the ideal time to get a real feel for the restaurant’s ambience.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is always valuable to hear differing opinions and perceptions of our hotel.

Many Thanks
Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    181
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
70
344
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend an I stayed hear for 1 night and it was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpfull, nothing was to much trouble for them. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. I would defiantly recommend this hotel, make sure you look at there website for there deals as they are very good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim-H1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at St Giles House Hotel.

Both myself and the team here at St Giles are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly do have some very good deals from time to time, such as our current offer 'Wine Dine and Stay' where your accommodation is absolutely free providing you spend a minimum of £85 on food and drink in our Bistro or our Friday and Sunday Special Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Rates. It is also possible to tie in some luxurious treatments in our Spa with your stay. So do keep up to date with our website for more offers in the future!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here on new years eve and I was pleasantly surprised. Having seen mixed reviews by other tripadvisor users I was a little concerned about what to expect. Hotel was clean, room was modern and comfy with a well stocked, modestly priced mini bar. Bathroom clean although plughole in shower took forever to drain. Couldn't fault this hotel except to say breakfast was a let down. Flavourless, small portion size and sausage was far too spicy for 9am!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireyb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to write to thank you for such positive feedback on your recent visit to St Giles House. Feedback from our Customers is essential to us providing and maintaining the service we offer, and it is great to see our staff, facilities & services are contributing well to making our customer experience a good one.

I am sorry that you did not like the sausages at breakfast, we have not received this feedback before but appreciate that this is your opinion so have passed your comments on to the chef.

I do hope we welcome you back to St Giles House again soon!


Warm Regards,

Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem. We stayed for one night and will most certainly return. The rooms are well appointed and teh facilities within the hotel excellent. We were pleasently surprised to find paking on site and so much of Norwich within walking distance of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and made good suggetsions to make our stay better.

Room Tip: Look on he website for deals with the spa and bistro. We spotted one to stay a free night if you spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback on your recent visit to St Giles House, it is great to see our staff, facilities & services all contributed to make your stay with us enjoyable. We are indeed ideally located to explore Norwich and all it has to offer!

I shall certainly pass your comments on to the team here at St. Giles as they take a huge amount of pride in offerring an fantastic customer experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for one night and chose the St Giles because it was within walking distance to the Royal Theatre and the hotel had private parking. We stayed in Room 8 on the 4th floor (there is a lift) and on our way to the room we were impressed with the decor of the public areas, nice light and airy corridors and good quality carpets. Our room was clean and had, flat screen TV/DVD player (loan of DVD's) Tea & Coffee making,hairdrier, adequate drawer & wardrobe storage and a bed that was very firm!. The main bedroom area was a bit cramped but the shower room was reallyspacious and well equipped.There was also a small balcony,looking out over the not very picturesque rooftops and offices. The car park is at the rear of the hotel and we managed to get the last space when we arrived at 1pm.The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the city and visiting the main shopping areas.Breakfast was taken in the rather bland,functional restaurant on the 2nd floor but the breakfast was very good quality - cooked or continental.Staff on the desk and in the restaurant were very helpful and efficient. Total for the room, inc breakfast was £130 and this included free parking - not cheap but worth it. There is also a spa treatment suite within the hotel complex.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel before. It is a very good base for central Norwich and particularly for shopping. There is a secure car park at the back and you can leave your car there before check in and drop off bags during the day. We stayed at the front of the hotel before which was a bit noisy so asked for a back room. The room was great but the water pressure on the shower was really disappointing. The staff are friendly. Breakfast was really good. Also good to have a pre dinner drink with comfy chairs or a separate lounge area off the reception. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in October. One of the nights was on the Sunday DBB package, which was excellent value for money. You could choose from a set menu of 3 courses and coffee, or have an allowance of £20 towards the A La Carte menu. The food was very good and well presented.

Our room was in the modern part of the hotel. It was tastefully decorated and comfortable.

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the city centre, with all the shops, bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmandelYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,129 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing