We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine at the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fine at the right price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

For the sector this hotel is in we paid a pretty high price. The location is OK (not central if you want to go shopping unless its at ASDA) and the parking was not pleasant. After a long drive to Norwich circling the car park in the rain for 15 minutes looking for a space was not my idea of fun. Most people seemed to be using the Sports facility nearby.
The WiFi charge, again for this range of hotel is optimistic at best...the excuses offered only serve to embarrass the poor desk clerks....
The room was fine, very clean and quite quiet. The carpet in my room was rather odd...large areas raised up which I am surprised have not been fixed. I nearly tripped over them on numerous occasions.
Breakfast was the same standard as a Travelodge except without the low price....I would strongly suggest this area is invested in.
It would not be my first choice in Norwich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property online and I will ensure that I share your comments with our hotel Team.

It was great to hear you were pleased with your breakfast and room cleanleness.

I would like to apologize for the car park issue. Fortunately the car parking is free of charge and additional car park spaces can be found at the bottom level of Asda car park facilities in close distance to the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room to feel tired and carpet to be worn out. I will ensure that this comment will be communicated back to the Maintenance and House Keeping departments and that all issues will be dealt with properly.

Once again thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Norwich and I hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    150
    130
    38
    34
See reviews for
95
135
28
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here last night (Saturday) as hubbys flight from Norwich airport had been delayed.
Reception area was clean and tidy and was made to feel welcome though did have a slight "lost in translation" issue at times.
Our room was quite a distance from the lift which was difficult with our 12 week old, however the room was very welcoming and a very good size with plenty of space for bubbas travel cot. It ws very clean and tidy with clean towels and bedding and, unusual for accomadation like this, extra pillows!
Didnt stay for breakfast as there was 2 coaches of "silver foxes" booking in for the Thursford experience, and as hubby had already left didnt fancy struggling around with my baby in a car seat.
And although the reception staff were very busy with this and breakfasts, after calling down for a hand with my stuff a very nice and friendly chappy ws straight up to assist with my luggage.
My only complaints would be that the room was cold when we arrived (not good for a November evening with a babe) and we couldnt find the instructions to operate the thermostat (OUR fault as didnt look for the "welcome details" supplied next to tv) However, after contacting reception they adjusted it with there computer and we soon warmed up, though not as cosy as I would have at home. Also, the hair dryed didnt work but wasnt worth moaning about.
After staying at many a Travel Inn/Travel Lodge in the past, will definately be choosing a Holiday Inn for future stop overs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property online and I will ensure that I share your comments with our hotel Team.

It was great to hear you were pleased with your stay and you did not come across any major problems. I'm pleased that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful.

Please accept my apology for the hair dryer being out of order. I will ensure that this comment will be communicated back to the Maintenance departments and that all issues will be dealt with properly.

Once again thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Norwich and I hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room was of an acceptable standard although a little cold at night.
Probably the best way to describe the location is in the corner of Asda car park and next to one of the ugliest structures I have ever seen (which I think is a skating centre).
The hotel also has a Virgin Active gym next door which gets really busy on weekday evenings so be prepared for a walk when parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich. I am glad that you took a time to share your hotel experience online.

I am glad that the hotel room has met your accommodation needs.

I am sorry to hear that you AC did not work properly during the night. This problem could be resolved straight away by contacting our 24h reception, who would change the setting in the room through the computer. I would like to apologise for the hotel's surroundings. The Ice Ring has been closed down couple months ago. We believe that new business, which will take over the building, will improve the outside look of it.

Again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, as it’s only from guest comments we will be able to continually strive to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ends ago, £55 for a double room and breakfast for 2, couldnt ask for much more! Breakfast was continental with a wide range of bits, rooms where cosy and warm
Well worth a look if you just want a cheap bed for the night, was cheaper than getting a taxi home

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny35352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property online and I will ensure that I share your comments with our hotel Team.

It was great to hear you were pleased with your room, breakfast and found the price paid to be good value for money.

Once again thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Norwich and I hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our daughter is at Uni in Norwich and we need a good value place to stay when we visit her. We have stayed here at least 4 times. Always a friendly welcome, rooms are clean, good choice of food for breakfast. It is a buffet breakfast and so isn't cooked to order and is obviously done to a cost, but offers excellent value, you can eat as much as you like.
It's not pretty on the outside and it's surroundings aren't pretty, but it is conveniently located for easy access to Norwich and the airport.
Haven't tried their offering of evening food, but there is a McDonald's and Wetherspoon's within walking distance.
The issue of parking has now been addressed, the bays reserved for hotel guests are more clearly marked and monitored by CCTV.
We will be continuing to stay here when in Norwich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich. I am glad that you took a time to share your hotel experience online.

I am pleased to see that you have been a loyal customer and you chosen to stay with us again. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you didn't come across any major problems during your stay.

The hotel team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Another good Express by Holiday Inn which for the small premium over a Travelodge (getting worse by the day), you get a good room, good selection for breakfast and good service. I've used this location twice in recent months and have always had good service.

It's one of the older versions of this brand as can be seen by the TV's in the rooms for instance, as well as having the original modular bathroom, but it's still good and very much worthwhile checking out if you're after a clean, comfortable, no nonsense hotel close to Norwich.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay with Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am pleased that you found the hotel's room to be clean and comfortable. Our House Keeping team appreciates your positive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. I'd like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our customer service provided to you during your stay.

Again, thank you for your review of our hotel. I hope that you will be able to return to Norwich soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Inside, in very good condition, rooms modern, but tv not widescreen. Internet access in room only via wired connection and expensive @ 9.95 per 24 hours. Bed comfortable. Limited car parking right outside hotel

Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGTips101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with and your accommodation needs has been met.

Your valuable comment about expensive internet connection has been already passed on to General Manager. We are going to review our internet policy in order to provide better services as we are aware that the internet connection is one of the essential requirements.

Again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, as it’s only from guest comments we be able to continually strive to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Address: Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road | Drayton High Road, Norwich NR6 5DU, England (Formerly Norwich Sport Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Norwich is a new 78 bedroom hotel on the Norwich Sports Village Complex. This Modern Hotel hosts a neighbouring Esporta Health and Raquet Club, the Royal Norfolk Golf Club, and the only Ice Rink in Norfolk, Ice Experience. All our guests can take advantage of all the facilities at the Health and Raquet club Swimming, Gym etc, for a daily fee as well as enjoy a round of golf or take advantage of our special GOLF BREAK Package contact our reception for special rates.Also enjoy ice skating at the Ice Experience. Our guest can take advantage of our rail/airport Courtesy Shuttle bus which runs daily and can be booked at reception from 8am - 9.30pm. The Express by Holiday Inn is located 2.5 miles from Norwich City Centre and 1.9MI from Norwich International Airport just off the A140. The hotel has been designed to combine contemporary design with comfortable accommodation and value pricing, catering for both business and leisure travellers. Each of the 78 bedrooms has a desk area with high speed internet access, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite channels and an invigorating power shower. Our rates include Continental Breakfast which is served in the Great Room which is also a relaxing and informal place to unwind with a drink from our bar or to enjoy a Light Snack from our evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Hotel Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing