We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Wensum Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wensum Guest House
Ranked #16 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is excellently located for the city centre and the university. The rooms are modern, nicely furnished with everything you could need, a good size and very comfortable. We loved the homely feel and warmth. The breakfast was delicious, a nice choice and home cooked. Very good value, I would recommend this B&B for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    72
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
46
83
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having been cancelled by The Ivydene, also in Norwich, we booked into the Wensum Guest House.I dont think the Ivydene could have bettered The Wensum. We were welcomed by Nick,who showed us to our room (number 8) which turned out to be a family room, so we had plenty of room to move about and leave our bags,also it was just inside the front door really handy when it came to unloading and loading the car. The room was really comfortable,shower was great.The breakfast was fantastic,so much to choose from, there was even bread pudding, one of my favorite things. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Will certainly book there again when we go back to Norwich.

Room Tip: Book this guest house you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIM65749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My room was modern, comfortable and spotless. I also didn't mind using the shared bathroom - which was next door. The staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was great too. The location is a little further from the main centre than I would have liked, but it did mean I got free parking, and the walk into town isn't too bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting my daughter who is at UEA - we initially had to cancel the first weekend we booked at very short notice due to the heavy snow but this wasn't a problem for them and they transferred our booking to the following weekend at no extra cost. The service was warm and welcoming and the room was spotless - breakfast was excellent and they even said our daughter could join us (not that she did, being a student early breakfast was a no no!!). We only stayed one night but were very impressed and will stay again.
A really lovely guest house

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ideal for visiting the city. Plenty of parking 15 minute walk to the city centre.
Friendly welcome, comfortable room, excellent breakfast.
Well situated in the Golden Triangle, Fat Cat pub just around the corner a must for real ale fans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we enjoyed our stay. Friendly welcome. Spotless room with generous tea tray. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. We loved the fact that Norwich city centre was within walking distance. Parking was on site. We felt it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bentley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Arrived 2 hours before check in and the kind lady came out to the car to me and said I could come in which was nice. Room was a single room,clean and comfortable with kettle etc. Shower was across the hall way and was very clean and refreshing.
Breakfast was excellent,loved the fried cherry tomatoes and the spanish waitress was very helpful and full of smiles.
My only comment was that the wall to my right in the room was very thin so you could hear next door using the toilet and shower, that was my only negative comment,lovely stay great value for money,friendly staff and a warm room.
Would definately stay again.
Chris Clarke

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Guest House

Property: Wensum Guest House
Address: 225 Dereham Road, Norwich NR2 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wensum Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly Bed and Breakfast, well located for all the attractions in Norwich. All our rooms are spacious and brand new with comfortable beds. We have 13 en-suite rooms and 8 rooms available on the ground floor. We have a large secure car park, and we're on a good bus route into the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wensum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing