We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few days in Norwich”
Review of Wensum Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wensum Guest House
Ranked #14 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a few days in Norwich”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this is an excellent bed and breakfast house for being able to spend some time in the city of Norwich. We had a very comfortable bedroom on the ground floor and good service for breakfast. Easy to walk into Norwich about 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepzibah186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    76
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
88
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for 10 days in August while working at the Norfolk Showground. Double room which was cleaned daily & very clean! Towels changed daily. Shared bathroom was not a problem as it was never in use when i wanted to use it. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. Hosts very friendly. What more can i say except that I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkcoastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Located on main road out of Norwich, decent amount of parking. Met on arrival and shown to room upstairs. 2 single beds at eaither end of a good sized room. Small but adequate en suite with excellent power shower - shower door needed a bit of a clean though. Room generally very clean and comfortable and quiet enough. Overall I've stayed in much worse hotels so as a guest house it was fine for an overnight. Only negative was that breakfast finished at 9am which is earlier then any other place I've ever stayed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Delouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked this in January - arrived to find that the room was not as advertised as it had a shared bathroom. Even if it had a private bathroom I wouldn't have been impressed with the size and cheap tacky looking interior. No other rooms to move to - Explained to the receptionist that we couldn't stay and she seemed to understand, but she didn't have the authority to process a refund and assured me it would be done the next day.

Moved to the queens head in the centre - more expensive, but from what we saw and experienced when we arrived, it was well worth the extra money.

A few days later - nothing had been done. Have called many times since and nothing. Now August and still no money back. Am out of pocket £70 and what can I do?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinesPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSmith789, Manager at Wensum Guest House, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We view these comments very seriously and would like to invite the writer to contact us at the Guest House as soon as possible in order to discuss the matter, as we have no record or recollection of the several calls asking for money back. We do feel that our rooms are advertised accurately, clearly stating whether they are en-suite or separate/shared bathroom and that the confirmation voucher also describe the rooms clearly. (Indeed, all except one double room and some single rooms are en-suite). I would also like to ask the writer to clarify that they stayed at the Queens Head hotel as there does not appear to be a hotel of that name in the centre of Norwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Comfortable and clean room - we had one of the en-suite twin rooms - with a nice selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate.
Breakfast was help yourself to juice, cereal, fruit, coffee (tea was made if you wanted it), toast and preserves, plus a made-to-order cooked breakfast. Perhaps not the biggest cooked breakfast, but a good selection.
Guest House parking, although this can get full. However, you can park on the side road adjacent, which was OK.
Ideally situated for Norwich city centre - a 15 minute stroll away - plus good location for UEA, the East Anglia show, as well as the general surrounding area.

All in all, clean comfortable room to sleep in, reasonable breakfast, reasonable cost, and good location meets all of my criteria for somewhere to stay.
Would definitely use again

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathrooms; some have sloped ceiling which could be an issue for tall people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muntzst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Mixed reviews here... Not the kind of place we are used to staying in but it suited our purpose at the time (plus Norwich was v busy that week). Incidentally I decided to book the Wensum as opposed to a Premier Inn, preferring to give cash to a local business.

The twin beds were clean and comfortable. The receptionist (and morning server) was a pleasant lady. She was surprised upon showing us to the room (no 10) that the overhead light wasn't working. We said it wasn't an issue but she said she would get it fixed the next day. We thought no more of it.

I placed a 'do not disturb' sign on the door that evening when we returned as my husband was unwell following a minor procedure earlier in the week.

At around 6:30am, the fire alarm sounded. We jumped out of bed, and left the room to meet outside the property. The only member of staff on duty was the cook, who was trembling with fear as she did not know what to do. I'm unsure as to whether a head count should have taken place/rooms should have been checked - but nothing of this sort happened. The cook advised she had only worked there a few weeks and did not know what to do. 2 fellow guests re-entered the building and disabled the alarm as we had all ascertained it was a false alarm. We returned to bed. No explanation was offered later as to why this had happened; the scenario was quite distressing, knowing that in effect, no one cared. Had this been a 'real' situation, it could have been extremely dangerous. As far as I understand, no staff are in the property overnight...

We decided to skip breakfast as we were both tired. Around 10am 'housekeeping' knocked on our door. I ignored it. They knocked again. I was furious, not only because we had already been disturbed, but because the DND was still displayed. It was to repair the light bulb. I sent the chap away with a flea in his ear. At this point, had we not paid upfront for the room I wouldh have left. I was angry and annoyed; no control over what happens in an emergency & no notice taken of our wishes to not be disturbed.

The next nights/days were however, uneventful.

The bathroom is quite horrid, though relatively spacious (compared to the room). It was clean enough though old looking and cheap.

Surprisingly, the breakfast was rather good; though half a sausage was quite amusing (especially as it was by far the best bit!). On the morning we left we had a sandwich instead of breakfast - very nice it was too.

My conclusion? I would not stay here again. If I was on business, it would be ok as a base I guess, but not good for 2 people sharing in all honesty.

I have downgraded service to 1 to reflect the fire alarm situation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSmith789, Manager at Wensum Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
In response to the comments made, I would like to apologise to you and all the other guests for being disturbed by the Fire Alarm incident. I would like to explain that the part time cook had only been working here for a few weeks and that normally there would be another member of staff on duty at the property. That said, we accept that inadequate training was given to the cook. However, this has now been rectified. This was an unfortunate, isolated incident at the Guest House due to an oversight on bookings. We would like it to be known that there is normally, always a staff presence overnight.
Once again I apologise for any inconvenience caused, our guests are very important to us and we will always try our utmost to keep our guests comfortable and safe.

Nick Smith.
Manager
Wensum Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for four nights room No 8. Very large room with en-suite, all facilities as described on website. Breakfast has something for everyone ranging from cereals to fresh fruit, full English,toast, coffee and tea. Room cleaned every day with fresh towels and tea service topped up as well. A good base for travelling around the East Coast would recommend this guest house to anyone.

Room Tip: Room No 8 very Large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
431 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Guest House

Property: Wensum Guest House
Address: 225 Dereham Road, Norwich NR2 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wensum Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly Bed and Breakfast, well located for all the attractions in Norwich. All our rooms are spacious and brand new with comfortable beds. We have 13 en-suite rooms and 8 rooms available on the ground floor. We have a large secure car park, and we're on a good bus route into the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wensum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing