We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised this is still open” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprised this is still open”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't like giving bad reviews but I have to share my night here in the hope it makes improvements. I walked in to the reception area and straightaway it was like stepping back in to the early 80's. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful but the appearance and decor is very very dated.

My single room was seriously in need of modernisation, right down to the metal built in radio and light controls in the headboard. Every floorboard creaks, and the bathroom, well.. The shower is an over the bath type, with the rubber/plastic fittings on the bath taps. The lino on the floor has been resealed many times and there are permanent stains around the toilet part of the floor. The room door has no 'double lock' so i didn't feel safe leaving my belongings there.

The noise of other guests coming in at 3.30 to 4.00am didn't help either, very noisy plus every floor board outside my room creaked!

I appreciate that this was a budget hotel, but at £54.00 for a single bed room (plus £8.50 for breakfast) it was a similar price to a chain hotel but much worse. The whole hotel is shabby looking and its a shame, as it's handy for the city centre and a big enough site to do something good with. I'm surprised it's not been taken over by a chain and modernised. I was visiting friends who are locals and when I told them where I was staying, they raised their eyebrows. I was only staying for one night, and luckily only needed a bed and shower, because the thought of having to spend time in the room would've been unbearable.

I really hope it improves for it's own sake. On the plus side, the two members of staff I spoke to on reception were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    41
    56
    69
See reviews for
9
49
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The room was quite big for a single, but smelling of smoke with shabby decor. It was clean but with stains on the carpet and old fashioned worn bathroom fixtures. People in adjacent rooms could clearly be heard talking. Though not a complete disaster, I would not recommend this. I'm sure better value for money could be found in Norwich.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Over night stay due to a early start in city centre only thing its good for really being close to the city centre other then that VERY old and dated rooms bed was like sleeping on nails got more pressure out of the taps then the shower walls were paper thin I could go on but just don't waste your time

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Briport
Level Contributor
145 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you go to Norwich for a football match, then you might be happy staying here, as it is a very short walk from the gound, but other than that I can find no redeeming feature for it.
In comparison with my stay at the Holiday Inn Basingstoke a few days beforehand, we are talking chalk and cheese, where there was only £1 difference per night. But what a difference!
The room was small and pokey and the bathroom ever smaller. The shower head was not secure on its fitting and as soon as the water was turned on, it took off, spraying the whole room. The staff seemed to have not noticed this when cleaning between guests, but the black mould on the insides of the windows told its own story. The taps had no hot or cold indicator markings on them and it took over 5 minutes for one to start warming up. I know we have had the wettest winter on record, but this is taking to a new level!
The cooked breakfasts were fine, but the selection of cereals (3) and the selection of fruits (1 on the first morning, none on the second) indicated the lack of interest in the guests.
We debated as to whether the place was on the way down or on the way up, but came to no conclusion and as we are unlikley ever to stay there again, lost interest in the subject.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are looking for a cheap hotel, you may wish to stay here but you do get what you pay for. The rooms are in dire need of refurbishment. The bathroom in my room had the bath panel hanging off. It was stuck on with tape but it had come undone. The soap was so small I struggled to get any lather.
There was no remote for the TV, if you want a remote you had to ask reception for one. It had very small draws for you clothes. The walls were very thin, I could hear the people next door talking. I did not find anything that I liked about this hotel.

I stayed here 2 nights with a group of golfing pals, we were booked in here by our travel agent, which was also disappointing, as they never gave us any idea how basic the hotel was.
Would I stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Out dated hotel, cheap and cheerful. Near the city centre (within walking distance) just used hotel to sleep in and went to the local wetherspoons for breakfast. Breakfast was £8.50 pp

Issues with the bathroom needed new bath panel and the shower head holder fixing.

But the Bed was very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchengland70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A basic hotel with friendly staff and 24 hour service. The public areas are nicely decorated and the entire hotel is clean but the hotel rooms while spacious are very dated and really in need of a comprehensive refurbishment. Shower is okay.

Room Tip: Look to pay rates typical for a private B&B or basic budget hotel (up to £70/night). Advertised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank md84419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing