We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a night”
Review of Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Norwich Hotel
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I arrived I was shown the room which was very poorly furnished. I was on a completely different floor to my travelling companion. When I started to look round the room I realised that there was very little carpet that wasn't badly stained, so much so that l wasn't prepared to walk on it without my shoes on. I did ask if I could change rooms but they said there were none available. I had been in bed about an hour when the rest of the guests staying on that floor returned.To my dismay I found I was sharing the floor with a Stag night and for the next 5/6 hours I was subject to shouting, arguing,door slamming loud music and room swapping.I think I was the only female on that floor. I would never stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here again for the second time this year. I've found it good both times. It's a two star hotel that needs a touch up here and there. No issues with noise. Friendly staff. Rooms seem ok, seemed clean. For a cheap stopover it's not bad.

The only thing i'd gripe about is the beer pipes have not been cleaned out in a while. I had arrived wanting a nice pint, and what I got was disgusting, undrinkable, sour and I tried two of their lagers. So if your reading this Lansdowne, please clean your pipes, you should not be selling beer that tastes that awful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ok so it needs modernising and some redecorating but apart from that its lovely. As lovely as £35 per person per night can be. For that cheap we weren't expecting it to be fabulous!! Staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. Accept dogs with no extra charge or hundreds of rules. Happy people & dog!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

On arriving we checked in and were told there were no non-smoking rooms left even though we had booked one. Were offered 2 single rooms but at full cost. We were assured that it had all been aired so decided to stay. We then proceeded to the lift which had the old grill door on the inside. We pressed the button to go up, jolted to a start and then came the stopping which was with such force that it nearly jolted you off your feet. Stuggled out through the grill and proceeded to room which did smell of cigarette smoke. It was advertised as having a restaurant, but apparantly only for breakfast. We were told to either go out for dinner or get a takeaway menu from the barman, the only helpful staff member.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandChristravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was staying here for work reasons and can honestly say I have stayed in better hostels. Firstly the room stank of smoke and looking out of the window there was hundreds of cigarette butts from previous smoking guests. Getting past the smell I noticed that there was a loaf of moudly bread in one of the draws and an empty poppers bottle under the bed. I don't want to know what had happened in this room previous to me but it was a dire hotel. The bed was hard and the overall cleanliness of the room was poor.

I could go on but I won't. Please don't even think about booking in here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coyoteboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A group of us stayed here over this weekend with fear after reading the reviews on this site.
And to be honest, whilst it wasn't the Ritz it was OK. Clean, functional and friendly. Yes dated and a bit worn. But put it in perspective, its a budget hotel, and not as terrible as some are saying. Dont stay here for your honeymoon or a romantic break. but don't be scared by the other reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bittermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel and my instincts told me to go immediately but I checked in to a room straight out of 70's which is ok if maintained but this room was awful- DIRT and grime in bathroom, judging by the Staines on the bed it had more of a sex life than me! Noisy at night and clearly sex workers using the hotel as due to the noises and coming and goings! All this and I'd only been there an hour!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washbag100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwich Hotel

Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England (Formerly Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $70 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Norwich Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing