We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blankets!! Where was the duvet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
sheffield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Blankets!! Where was the duvet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner booked this last minute as we decided to stay over in Norwich after travelling to watch Newcastle play. From pulling up outside we began to have doubts. The exterior really needs a revamp including the car park. Inside it was like stepping back in time 40 years. Borders and floral wallpaper! The lounge area looked like a granny's front room,only thing missing was the granny. We were handed a battered old TV remote control,and ordered to hand the key when leaving the hotel. If you like the retro look then this hotel is. A must. Old fashioned intercom system in the teak look headboard. Blankets on the bed..... No duvet..... On inspecting the bed, this was at least clean. If you moved round the room whilst watching TV you lost the signal. Mugs on the hostess tray would have suited better on a building site, def in need of a good bleach! Dirty dirty dirty. The carpet was a case of not standing on it with bare feet. What can I say that is positive... Good quality loo roll nice and warm in the bathroom, although not sure whether the nets were grey or just in need of a good wash. Staff were friendly although a mixed bunch. Stay here again.... For £60 a night not inc breakfast a big NO!! Had a night in jury's inn for £49 inc breakfast. Rip off at this Norwich hotel. Near to the football ground was maybe the only plus point. Sorry but honest review. Wish we had read previous comments. Faulty towers had nothing to worry about

Lorac58 worksop notte

Room Tip: Don't not at this hotel. Go across the road to the Stracey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    43
    56
    69
See reviews for
10
52
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel for a novelty Fawlty-Towers-esque experience without the enthusiasm and charisma of Basil Fawlty then this is the place for you!

Stayed here for business.

The exterior is very run down - like a looming butterscotch Angel Delight that should have been eaten several days ago.

The room was like something from the other side of the Berlin Wall circa 1960.

Taps in the bathroom did not match
Phone book was from 2007
Found a toenail under my bed

A collection of boy-racers across the road hindered my sleep further

On the plus side breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

So bad I checked out after my first night and got a full refund. Here's why:

Disabled facilities were unsafe - the shower stall was not sealed properly and the doors didn't fit, hence water all over floor, making it dangerous to step onto. The fixtures were either far too old to be safe, or fitted very badly.

Leaking pipes drip..drip..dripping from the rooms above or next door - one set of drips came after the toilet flushed (messy?) the other from a shower outlet.

Very loud squeaking floorboards in the hallway kept me awake during the night as very drunk and noisy people came back from nights out.....moreorless between the hours of 1 and 5am. yes, 5am. This is not the hotel's fault obviously, but the fact that you can hear everything as if you were sleeping in the corridor....well....that needs to be fixed.

At 3am, a drunk woman was banging on her room door unable to get in. She went on banging without success until I got up and went out of my room to ask her to stop.

The smell of cannabis was rich in the air, it had probably come in under my door through a gap, and even opening my window didn't make a difference. Not good.

All of these things are on top of the room, with its very sad and dirty carpet and furniture which looked like a 1970s hall of residence.
The TV was about a 10inch screen, which I couldn't see from the bed, and the kettle was half-full of water with a cupful of rust flakes in it from the element. There were other things, but to be honest they pale into insignificance when compared with the issues I've mentioned here.

I got to sleep at about 5am and slept til 8.30, which is when I went downstairs to cancel my booking.
You couldn't pay me to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: You want to choose a good room? Just don't choose ANY room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is hideous. The whole place is in disrepair and in desperate need of renovation. I was woken several times between 3 and 4am by loud shouting and banging of doors. It was very fightening and unpleasant. My bed was absolutely tiny and the covers were not clean (the sheets were thank goodness). I will never stay here again thank goodness.

Room Tip: My tip for travellers is to choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLcanada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is well located for the centre of Norwich. It hasn't had a penny spent on it in years and it is very tired ! On the plus side the staff were friendly, the breakfast excellent and the room was clean. Overall fine for a one night stay but not any longer. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaddogsdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I booked a nights stay here as it was one of the few available hotels within my company budget that offered free wifi in the rooms. This is pretty essential to me as i have to work and email from hotels for a few hours each day. I arrived at the hotel about 5pm and waited in line to check in. When i eventually got to the front of the queue, i was allocated a room, but when i asked about the wifi, was told you couldnt get it in the rooms. I pointed out that their blurb on late rooms stated it was, but then was told i must have been mistaken! After checking in my room, i went down to the bar (where there wasfree wifi), brought up the late rooms site and showed her what it said. She simply smiled and said dont blame me, blame the owners!!!

Anyway.... Wifi rant over. The room was a little cramped and in need of a spruce up. In fact the whole hotel needs modernising and decorating. I ate in the bar that night. The menu leaves a lot to be desired and there were only 5 or 6 options....all of the fast food, frozen, precooked variety. That said, the meals were not expensive at £8. Breakfast was ok, if a little on the greasy side

Generally speaking, this is what id class as an "any port in a storm" hotel. It was warm and clean, but there are many ways it needs to improve.

Im off to London area now.....wish me luck.

PS cant see why this hotel is classed as a conference centre???

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had the misfortune to stay here when a colleague booked 6 of us in whilst on business
Previous reviews concerned me but it is as bad as others have said
TV remote given to you on checking in, stained carpet in public areas and many of the corridors smell of cigarette smoke
Room itself absolutly terrible, no bigger than a cupboard, stains on bedcovers, wonky floor, cracked tiles on bathroom floor, no bedside light, no WiFi, horrid single bed which was lumpy with holes in sheets..
Colleagues rooms were just as bad
Please do not stay here it is truly a grim experience

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG6615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing