We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Central Norwich B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earlham Guest House
Ranked #72 of 81 Norwich B&B and Inns
torquay devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Central Norwich B&B”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

After an exhausting 6 hour journey from Devon every 3 months its reassuring to stay with nice hosts in a relaxing , clean and comfortable guest house with good food yet within easy walking distance of the University and City Centre . Highly recommened and thank you Tony and Pat.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — strong coffee!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chuckieTorquayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
9
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Very comfortable surroundings and incredibly friendly and understanding hosts. Fantastic breakfast and a beautiful, well situated house, only a short walk from town. Also very good for planning. More than one notice board with street maps, numbers and suggestions of day trips and things to do. More than happy to stay there again.

Mr. Coombes

  • Liked — Hosts and general quality of the accomodation especially the price!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xEngelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I've been staying in Norwich since the early Spring (2008) whilst here on business and this guesthouse compares extremely well with other B&B's here and elsewhere on price, comfort and facilities.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, prices are reasonable and the breakfasts are well prepared with good ingredients, delivered in a very efficient and timely manner. Any problems with any of the facilities are always very quickly addressed.

As a regular, I do get to hear of some of their more unreasonable guests - to whom I'd say: "if you want the Ritz, you should expect to pay for it; if you want a good clean B&B then that's what you will get at Earlham at a commensurate price".

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProjMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a family room which was a good size, the bathroom was small but had a working (if gentle) shower and loo. Good location on Earlham Rd, easy for town and Fat Cat. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. Selection of menus from the local pubs to look at downstairs was a good idea.

The people skills here could use a bit of work though. Breakfast is served 8-9 on the weekend and you pick what you want and when.
We booked for 9am but we arrived downstairs at 9:03 and our greeting was a telling off for being late as "3 minutes is 3 minutes". This and a few other incidents made us feel we were being quite inconsiderate for staying there, and we did wonder how long till we'd be told off for treating the place like a hotel.

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — being made to feel unwelcome
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemical_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2008

The rooms were clean if a little dated and the breakfast was robust and tasty.

But if your thing is 1950s Blackpool Boarding House, then this place is for you. I've never ever experienced hosts like these and I won't be returning there in a hurry. The only redeeming feature is that our stay will provide me with laughs for the next decade or so.

Would suggest that Earlham Guest House look up the meaning of 'hospitality' or perhaps reconsider their chosen profession.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Awful hosts
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

A no-frills b&b along Earlham road, 20 minutes walk from the city centre. A standard Victorian 3 storey house turned into a guest-house. No-frills, but clean, functional and good value.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

I have been coming to Norwich for 5 months now on business.
Service, flexibility and hospitality of Pat and Tony mean I have no reason to look elsewhere.
Whether on business or leisure highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank earlham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
0.4 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#14 of 81 in Norwich
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#20 of 81 in Norwich
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earlham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earlham Guest House

Property: Earlham Guest House
Address: 147 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing