We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earlham Guest House
Ranked #69 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a contractor I've found it difficult to find decent short term accommodation at a reasonable price however Earlham Guest house has been excellent. Great value for money with meticulously kept rooms and Tony and Pat are genuinely nice hosts who go out of their way to help you (The laundry service has been a life saver for me!). The location is great too only taking a 15 minute leisurely walk into the city centre. All in all I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a great find via the visit Norwich website. The B & B was clean comfortable and the hosts welcoming but unobtrusive.
It's well located for all Norwich has to offer. I would recommend staying here if visiting Norwich. I will certainly come here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Although the B & B is on a main road, the house is set back from it with a large front garden as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayspecial28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Friendly, informal atmosphere, clean, pleasant rooms, varied breakfast choice. City bus service right outside the door, good room rates. I've stayed here on 4 visits to Norwich, over the past year,in preference to other B/B's & intend to continue. It's on a B road, some traffic, but it's quiet enough at night (& I usually stay in a front room).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I found Tony and Patricia to be very rude, unfriendly and not helpful. A) rude greeting at the door as Patricia thought our son was staying with us, which he was not - very suspicious and confrontational B) we asked to use the phone as we forgot something at my Aunt's in Cornwall - make it quick and glared at my husband the whole time C) Husband went down for breakfast on the first morning by himself as I was still tired from the long trip the day before. Tony said " Your wife has upset my wife and that upsets me". I never went down for breakfast after that. D) Very noisy location - busy street E) A bench was set up in the outside front entrance so you had to go through smokers to get into the B and B. F) We travelled through Europe for 4 weeks and found Earlham to be the worst experience of the trip. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 428HappyDancer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very clean and tidy rooms. There was a varied choice for breakfast. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. There was a frequent bus service into the City Centre. I thought it was very good value for money and decently priced. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Angela197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

BE AWARE..The free internet DIDNT WORK in the bedroom or breakfast area. On arrival I wasn't offered the WiFi code and as it was nearly 10pm I needs to inform family of my arrival. Once in the room I felt I would be intruding to go down and ask for it. Anyway it didn't work when I asked for the code during breakfast.
The breakfast was acceptable but the lady runs around and hardly stops so you had difficulty asking anything which was a bit unsettling.
It would help if Tony was more welcoming and took greater care to cover all the bases needed to settle newbies into the place. I didn't find him helpful or even approachable if things were on my mind.
BE AWARE...Very poor response time to emails if at all! This to me should have been a RedFlag and if they can't be bothered to be professional then I shouldn't have bothered either!
The room was basic and could use some updating with improved furniture, fittings and shower room. It was all a bit down market for and missed out on any love or affection!
Also I had a front room...BE AWARE you will get poor sleep with traffic noise on the main road outside all night!
The payment was about par for Norwich but I know of better value elsewhere. BE AWARE there is an extra charge for credit cards and if only staying for the one night.
I did notice that the property is for sale on a business web site so probably that's why's there's little
Interest in customer satisfaction!

Room Tip: Front rooms means poor sleep as on main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugalTravellerno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Clean and value guest house although a little far from city centre.The landlady is a little bit exacting like a mum but she is basically nice woman.Attention! It's ban to bring takeaway to your room also ban to smoke here.Take care.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyan-nyan-cyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
5.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
727 reviews
7.8 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
937 reviews
13.4 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earlham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earlham Guest House

Address: 147 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing