We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend”
Review of Caistor Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caistor Hall Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had an opportunity to stay at Caistor Hall and then have family over for lunch. Accommodation was good - bit of a trek to our room but is an old property so allowances to be made etc. We had a quiet room and not too much else going on a the time but could be busy with various function rooms. Worth checking in advance. Room was big, comfortable, clean and well appointed.
Xmas lunch the following day was well received. Some nice ante rooms for tea/coffee, all part of the Caistor experience. Roman ruins/wall very close by worth a walk if the weather permits.

Room Tip: Check if other events are booked and ask for quiet room if there is a risk of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were lucky enough to be upgraded for 1 night in the Bridal Suite, the 4 poster bed was very comfortable and caused a laugh when trying to get on ( as it was so high off the ground). The jacuzzi was massive but very relaxing after a long journey,

Every one made us very welcome on arrival.

The grounds are beautiful; if you want a peaceful place to stay, this is it.

We were very impressed with the new carpet in the lounge, and dining room, especially with the way the pattern was matched around the open fireplace.

All in all, it was an impressive place to stay.

Many thanks to all the staff for their help and cheeriness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me, my husband and one year old son stayed in one of the luxury rooms before holding a naming ceremony at the hotel.
We had a lot of contact with staff arranging the ceremony from Bristol and found them extremely helpful when we are asked our many questions via phone calls and email!
We checked in late and had no issues with this, our room was beautiful with outstanding views and very clean. Wifi was the easiest I've come across to set up and the speed of it was great. So much so that we had no issue connecting with one of our supporting adults in New Zealand over skype!
Staff went out of their way to be attentive from Breakfast all the way through to when we left.
Our guests told us what a lovely day they had had, and had enjoyed the food as well as the breath taking grounds that surround the hotel. There is literally no window you can look out of and find yourself disappointed!
Will happily hold another function here, no matter how far away we are arranging it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A very nice hotel set in quite grounds close to Norwich and even closer to the Roman site of Ventor Icenorum, town of the Iceni, and allegedly where Buodicca lived and started her rebellion from.

Thats the good stuff.

For a place that advertises as a wedding and conference center the rooms are woefully inadequate. At least mine was. Good size but one chair and no desk to work from. Yes a huge mirror to admire myself as I balanced the computer on my knees.

A toilet that required the amputation of one leg to be able to sit on...and yet again a shower that should have been called a dribble.

Breakfast poor. No real choice of cereal, no menu to choose from and the salmon and scrambled egg I did order was watery and insipid...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baggywrinkle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just to be a bit different I'm actually sat at the hotel writing this review. Stayed for one night on business and booked through Booking.com for £45 which is about right. I'm not in any way saying its bad, but its not a £70 a night place. The bad bits, the wifi only works in the library and not in the rooms, or at least not in my room. It cost £4 for a pint of local beer which is a shame because if it was a bit cheaper I'd have had more than 1 pint and breakfast service was terrible. It took 30 minutes for a cooked breakfast to arrive, and then it was the one sausage, one rasher of bacon type. Seriously overpriced at £9. Good bits, friendly staff, room was clean, air con worked fine. Ok for a cheap overnight stay (As long as you forget breakfast).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuartadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I can understand for a celebration the attraction of a 2am finish, falling drunkenly into your uncomfortable bed, and a cooked breakfast is a real positive. If you are the ordinary couple booked in for a quiet sleep before in our case a days hockey, forget it. Really warm, soft mattress. Late, cheap breakfast. Loud nightlong music/shrieking from party guests. Outrageous considering steep prices. Def premier inn trumps this.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hockeywisyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thought we would try the Sunday lunch, what a disappointment, staff were cheerful and polite, there were not many people having lunch so therefore the restaurant did look a bit bear, the meal was just average, the beef was nice and pink, one potato cut in half with a little veg, everything on the plate was luke warm even the plate, so that didn't help.
My wife had the desert, such a small portion, in my opinion everything was over priced.
Plus the restaurant could do with some TLC.
Could not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
7.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
3.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
915 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caistor Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caistor Hall Hotel

Address: Stoke Road, Norwich NR14 8QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: $99 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caistor Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caistor Hall Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel located on the fringe of the 'Fine City' of Norwich in secluded surroundings. The village of Caistor St Edmund is a wonderful reflection of the idyllic peaceful backdrop that Norfolk country life has to offer, with its imposing classical Georgian front and 30 acres of woodland and private gardens, Caistor Hall Hotel is the ideal venue for any occasion. Caistor Hall Hotel offers the perfect setting for your chosen event with 21 bedrooms and a variety of function rooms. The hotel hosts many events from your traditional dressed wedding to private dinners, and business events including conferences, seminars and private functions. Caistor Hall hosts a popular restaurant offering a fantastic A la Carte menu along with a Menu du Jour and daily specials. Bar food, Lunch and Afternoon Teas are available daily to both residents and non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caistor Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caistor Hall Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing