We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A good place to stay if visiting Norwich. The hotel is well located for access, on foot, to Norwich town centre. It also provides easy access if driving around Norfolk. Parking in near-by multi-storey car park but is free with certified ticket from reception.



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieDown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    441
    105
    49
    25
See reviews for
302
542
79
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fairly new to Premier Inns, this is the third I've stayed in. The first in Doncaster had no parking arrangements, only the local council run car park, where we ended up with a parking ticket! last year we stayed overnight in Pontefract, where the parking was free and adjacent to the hotel.

The Duke street establishment has an arrangement with Norwich City Council, which works perfectly. You collect the ticket on entering the car park and present it to reception when you want to leave it. There is a drop off area outside the hotel, but as Duke Street is one way, it means you have to drive round the block to get back to the car park.

We were not disturbed by other guests, so the guaranteed sleep promise does work; however, the hotel is opposite a student digs, and rubbish is collected on Friday mornings, you do get laundry deliveries/collections, and our room was directly above entrance to the hotel. But this was probably more of a distraction to us, as we live in a village cul-de-sac where we are rarely disturbed by any background noise.

The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was perfect (always when I don't have to cook it), and we had dinner on the first night.

Premier Inn's bonus is the exceptionally large rooms and beds. The rooms was comfortable temperature wise and everything was clean and tidy.

The best bit for me was the bliss of a hot bath/shower. Totally irrelevant but my own bathroom is out of action, so this was THE BEST BIT for me!

Room Tip: If you decide to eat in make sure you book in advance, as the dining room is not large and while the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKavanagh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Such lovely staff. The hotel is good, but the staff are their best asset, very attentive. If I had to name one. It would be a young guy called Peter. Such an impressive young man. The rooms are clean, bed comfortable and the breakfasts are a great quality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at the Premier Inn Duke Street for a week when I was in Norwich to help settle my daughter at the University. Premier Inn has become my hotel chain of choice whenever I'm visiting England, for obvious reasons - as compared to the competing chains, the rooms are much more spacious, the beds much more comfortable, the air conditioning way better, the staff much more courteous, the breakfast much better, etc. etc. And this hotel was no exception. The hotel is located on a quiet street, but just a few minutes walk to Gentleman's walk, which is the main pedestrianised and shopping area of Norwich. Chapelfield mall is about 10 minutes away, and so is the Norwich castle and the bus stop (which I felt was a bit far). A lot of eating options are close by, and Tesco is just a few minutes away. And if you walk in the other direction, you will reach Magdalen street, where there are a lot of Indian and Halal eating options.The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was standard Premier Inn. My only issue was the box-type AC, which sometimes vibrated and made considerable noise, and I had to get up in the middle of the night and hit it on the side to make it stop vibrating! In any case, upon checkout, the receptionist asked if I slept well during my stay, and I mentioned this issue to her, and she immediately refunded one night's stay to my credit card, no questions asked! Now THAT'S what I call great customer service! You have made one loyal customer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoaibShawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Room was far too hot, couldnt even open the window to get any air.
Bed was like sleeping on concrete.
We needed to ask the staff in the night for a fan as we felt we couldn't breath let alone sleep, no phone in the room, used the emergency phone, nobody was available.
Breakfast was luke warm and had been sitting for ages.
Hardly any choice of a continental breakfast, the price for this type of food is very expensive, save your money and go out and buy a decent breakfast.
The noise outside the hotel was very loud too with drunk people fighting til all hours, again, no night time staff to help us.
Would not recommend this hotel to anybody.
If you have baggage to unload, this is also very difficult as there are no parking facilities, you have to park in a multi story which is close to the hotel and walk your stuff over which if you have alot is very tiring.
I had to check out of the hotel after 1 night and cancel the rest of my stay , it was that bad

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here as i had a theatre trip planned,helpful friendly and efficient staff,clean and well kept room and the parking was completely free close and convenient.
The hotel is literally in the city centre so great for a base which enabled us to walk to the theatre/dinner afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Room 215 I discovered is over the rear of the kitchen area. Extractor fan/air conditioning ran all night. 5 minutes on 5 minutes off. Window glazing not good enough to muffle sound. Also waste bins being moved around and rear of hotel used as a cut through by people going home, could hear their voices. Still awake at 4 am. Not ideal when you have a training course to deliver next day. Other aspects of hotel were very good.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.8 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.2 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Address: Duke Street, Norwich NR3 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#4 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#7 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the heart of historic Norwich with Premier Inn Hotel Norwich City Centre (Duke Street). Whether you're looking for arts and culture, shopping and shows, or are here for work, you'll find us a great place to start. Marvel at the cloisters of Norwich Cathedral, or uncover the city's history at the Castle Museum. Treat all your senses with a wander around Norwich's traditional market. Catch some drama or comedy at the Theatre Royal. Then unwind in our tasty restaurant and relax in your extra-comfy bed.Chargeable off-site at St Andrews multi-storey car park which is a short distance from the hotel at a discounted rate of £4 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel Norwich
Norwich Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing