We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't always get what you want!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You can't always get what you want!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

After our first night spent at the luxurious Maids head hotel, we realised we had to tighten the purse strings and go down market a little for our final day in Norwich. The premier inn duke street fitted the bill nicely with our room costing roughly £40 for the Sunday night stay.
Parking is catered for by the city councils St Andrews multi-storey car park, with its 1000 + spaces and state of the art CCTV system, which is situated just 200 yards from the hotel. A word of warning here, the 200 yards of road between the car park and the hotel are one way. This means if you drive to the door of the hotel and then after unloading your bags and checking in at reception you try to drive to the car park, you will have to make a one mile round the block trip, including a stretch on the busy A147 to get back to your cars resting place for the night. Take my advice park at the car park first, and walk your bags the 200 yards to the hotel. In the morning reception will validate your parking ticket, and there will be no charge for the nights parking.
Apart from the slight parking hiccup the hotel was all we had come to expect from a premier inn. Clean comfortable room with everything we needed for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    423
    101
    45
    23
See reviews for
294
521
77
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked early and got a very good price. Perfect for an overnight stay. Although the hotel has no car park, we were able to stay free of charge in a multi storey car park just along the road, and reception simply gave us a ticket to validate to exit the car park. One of the hottest days of the year, but there was air conditioning in the room, and also a desk fan should you find the air conditioning too noisy. We thought the breakfast was a bit pricey but very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Clearly one of the best places to stay whilst your in Norwich. Good value for money and the rooms where modern and very clean. Your not far away from town it's literally a 2 minute walk to all of the shops or the night life depending what your stay is for. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grante91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall stay was good, will recommend to friends and family

* Good, helpful and very kind staff (5 stars-personal view)
* Clean and tidy room (4 stars-personal view)
* Good facilities in room like space for your coats, fresh towels, hair dryer etc) (4 stars-personal view)
* Good air-con/heater to quickly cool/heat the room (4 stars-personal view)

Just want to mentioned two points:
1. See that bed don't have tiny wheels - just in case if you dn't want bed to move from its position when flipping sides while you are in sleep (personal view)
2. The Veg. breakfast should have more options (personal view)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patel_C_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room we had was smaller than that at Ashford. Other than that it was good and extra tea/milk was provided. The Inn is actually in the city centre and a great venue if the city is where you want to be. The first night we ate in the restaurant Thyme and that was a very bitter disappointment. That alone brings the overall rating down. We had steak and it was almost inedible. In fact two other tables found their steaks inedible. The “manager” told us that they had problems with their meat supplier. Well I can agree with that. At breakfast we were seated close to where the food is served. Avoid, as it’s busy and you are surrounded by people who are trying to get breakfast. For a Premier Inn it fell far below expectations based upon the poor quality restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikewelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here Saturday the 13th of July. We found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The room ( 402 ) was of the usual clean and comfortable standard although the air conditioner was very noisy at night we ended up with just the fan on. It was a very hot night though so no fault of the hotel. We were offered jugs of water by reception staff and there were fans blowing in the lift areas to cool things off. Nice touches. I was a little concerned that being a city centre hotel it would be a bit noisy, but this was not the case. In the mornig we indulged in the usual Premier Inn breakfast, again the staff were very friendly and polite. The breakfast itself was of a very high standard especially the sausages . So as usual, we could not fault Premier Inn, high standards are guaranteed unlike another large chain we have used. We will certainly use this hotel again because of it's location to the city centre bars and restaurants, and because it is a Premier Inn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at this excellent Premier Inn.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Room immaculate and spotless.
Air conditioning unit on floor and electric fan helped to counter VERY hot weather conditions.
About time head office offered UNLIMITED free wi-fi and automatically put two hand towels in room when two guests occupy. No reduction in stars as this is not down to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britcockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Address: Duke Street, Norwich NR3 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#4 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#7 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the heart of historic Norwich with Premier Inn Hotel Norwich City Centre (Duke Street). Whether you're looking for arts and culture, shopping and shows, or are here for work, you'll find us a great place to start. Marvel at the cloisters of Norwich Cathedral, or uncover the city's history at the Castle Museum. Treat all your senses with a wander around Norwich's traditional market. Catch some drama or comedy at the Theatre Royal. Then unwind in our tasty restaurant and relax in your extra-comfy bed.Chargeable off-site at St Andrews multi-storey car park which is a short distance from the hotel at a discounted rate of £4 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel Norwich
Norwich Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing