We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place with average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Boar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Boar
Ranked #20 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly place with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We visited here with my disabled Mother-In-Law and two young children recently. The staff were friendly and helpful, and looked after us well. The pub has a large garden with a play park that is a great asset - the children enjoyed the park, although they were more taken with just exploring the garden! This was a winter visit, but I can easily imagine it's a great place to be in the spring and summer.

The place is welcoming, the bar is fairly well stocked, and there's plenty of seating but it doesn't feel too cramped as it's a large building. It is a good, family friendly venue.

The food, however, was distinctly average. It could well just be personal preference, but none of us enjoyed my wife's sausage and mash, my enchiladas were entirely forgettable, and the only meal that was finished was my Mother-In-Law's lasagne (which, to be fair, she quite enjoyed).

If your priority is a nice place to take the family and you're not too demanding about the food, add a star to this review. We may well return in the summer - but possibly only for a snack instead of the full meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountJimMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
40
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a meal with friends. As December, expected to have to wait and thought service may not be as good as the place was pretty full. How wrong can you be? Order was taken from friendly waitress and food was delivered very promptly. All food was very well presented, delicious and hot! Well done to all staff who I could see were working very hard and still smiling!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david t, Owner at The Blue Boar, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I have shown our team your review and, needless to say, they are delighted.
They work so hard all year but especially in December and, as you say, "are still smiling".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I sayed for one night its a clwan friendly place advertised as 4 star but i would say a good 3 star was closer to what it is. I would stay again even though i had no hot water untill the morning an the manager was not in untill then an the staff could not sort it. But i guess theses things happen. Diddent eat in there but the menu looked ok.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thesaint73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a sunday night. I enjoyed the stay. very Good sized rooms with a 42inch t.v! Had a bit of a issue with the warm water but other than that they are good digs. Loads of parking spaces, friendly staff and the food was good. Breakfast was nice aswel...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank whitto92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

not sure about this hotel its not 4 star but its not bad either food was good and breakfast was to,
so overall not bad would i stay i think i would as its has a charm but not as good as expected,but the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinb964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

i did not think our meal was worth what we were charged my boyfriend had mixed grill some of mrat was burned black the table needed a good wash as it was very sticky it was my birthday an the meal let us down we wont go back again .this place used to do very good food but not any more

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 79bigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the restaurant at the Blue Boar and were delighted with our meals chosen from a varied menu (there were six of us). The food was delicious, well presented and filled our large plates. The deserts too were huge and as one of us is diabetic the staff were very helpful and made up a fruit salad specially for him. The staff were efficient, polite and friendly and we all agreed we would be looking forward to our next visit. The only thing I would suggest is that the toilets be smartened up

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.5 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#15 of 86 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar

Property: The Blue Boar
Address: 259 Wroxham Road, Norwich NR7 8RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Boar Inn is situated on the road from Norwich to the Norfolk Broads just 1 mile from the ring road,10 mins drive from the city centre,15 mins from the train station and Norwich International Airport.Sprowston Marriot Hotel and golf course is 10 mins walk away.We have 5 delightful en-suite bedrooms and are rated 4 star by Visit England.Our delicious food is in the main home-cooked and sourced locally.We have 2 bars where it is great to "meet the locals".4 cask ales are on offer plus a good range of lagers and wines.We have a beautiful garden with a great kids play area.There is lots of car parking.We can host functions of up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Blue Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing