We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional day out”

Norfolk Tank Museum
Ranked #26 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closed for the Winter reopen Easter 2017
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional day out”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took our 11 and 16 year old grandchildren and after nearly over three hours they had to be dragged away already planning a revisit. Add to this a great day out for Grandad and even Nan enjoyed the ride over the hills and we think we found perfection. All the staff were incredeible. They chatted with the children and ouselves, demonstarted equipment and vehicles, allowed the tanks to be climbed over and into and the garndhcildren were even able to operate the tank gun turrets. A photo opportunity with them in full kit, carrying backpacks and guns rounded off the day nicely though we did finish with a visit to the on site cafe for a great cuppa and cake. We will definitely be going back and heartily recommend anyone with any interest in miltary vehicles not to miss this real gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A truly different and amazing day out!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My boiler repairman told me that he volunteered at the Norfolk Tank Museum and left me a leaflet. . .
When I got there I thought 'wow, that's different!,' why haven't I been before! This is a gem of a museum set in south Norfolk [near Long Stratton] and has fun, history and interest to satisfy all-comers.
There is a menacing dignity to the wall-to-wall tanks and armoured vehicles: Saladin armoured car, Sabre, Centurion, and Chieftain tanks are casually parked [how else!] for easy access - this place lets you climb all over many of their vehicles so as to have a better idea of what serving in a tank was like.
Owner/collector, Stephen, tells me that many of the vehicles are being worked on and sourcing/making/repairing parts can be very time-consuming and laborious. The workforce is made up entirely of volunteers who are mostly ex-servicemen and are extremely knowledgeable about the history, the technical detail, and the armaments. Oh yes, they have an Armoury where heavy guns and automatic weapons of all kinds can be seen.
For an extra £2 [towards fuel/ maintenance] you can get a ride over the proving grounds in a tracked BV 206. Occasionally, one of the tanks is started up. . . .they don't move them too far - not at two gallons per minute [not a misprint!!].
Very reasonably priced at £6 per person it attracts a huge range of people. It has a cafeteria where lighter snacks can be obtained. Open days are on the first and third Sundays in the month.
You might be forgiven for thinking it is Toys For Boys set in a huge farm hangar; on one level it is but, also, there is the reality of what these mighty beasts represent and some of the visitors with relatives that served in these machines get a rare moment of understanding about what they went through - and still do!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Georges P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This museum is fantastic. We took our 3 year old lad along one sunday and thought he would be wanting to leave after an hour.....how wrong we were! You get a great hands on experience in being able to climb over and inside many of the vehicles including a Chieftain Tank. The guys that work there are incredibly friendly and will chat to you for ages about the vehicles and memorabilia that exist in the museum. You can even go for a ride in a tank. Our lad loved, and so did we! See you in August.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great day out!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This really is a hidden jem. Where else would you get the chance to clamber inside a Chieftain tank! Don't forget to have a trip in the tracked BV, its only £2, just make sure you fasten your seat belt!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you have an interest in Military vehicles, want to re-live your army youth or just want an interesting place to visit then this is the place to go.
There are only a handful of vehicles but the owner Steve has got the enthusiasm of ten men.
For someone who has no actual military background he has certainly done his research and is a fountain of knowledge.
I along with a few other blokes have just attended an event over the weekend of the 5 Oct.
We were made extremely welcome by Steve and his Good lady wife ( I'm sorry for not remembering her name) with coffee tea and biscuits and later lovely soup and bread.
After a long talk about the machinery in his 'barn' we were aloud to crawl all over them and a great time was has by all, From Saladin armored vehicles to Centurion Tank, Armored recovery to the fantastic Chieftain, even down to the smallest piece of memorabilia. There are also loads of small arms that can be handled and a great display behind a glass screen.
Later in the day Mrs (Steve) laid on a lovely BBq with accompanying sides.
On site there is a great camping/caravan area which is very clean and well kept. Various other bits and pieces of military hardware scatter the site and although have seen better days are still great to climb around.
All in all small enterprises like this deserve the support of the paying public and I urge anyone with the slightest bit of interest in this kind of hardware a visit to the Norfolk Tank Museum is a must.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Tank Museum also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Tank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing