We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoe Hire”
Review of Salhouse Broad

Salhouse Broad
Ranked #16 of 143 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrogate, England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Canoe Hire”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to Salhouse Broad to hire a canoe for the afternoon. They had about 5 or 6 canoes and a few kayaks. We took one of the Canadian open top canoes for two adults and a child and went paddling for 3 hours. They gave us a map and we paddled up the river towards Horning. There are 3 pubs in Horning and they are a perfect spot to stop for a quick drink before paddling back. Without pushing it we were back in just under 3 hours including a drink at the pub. Great afternoon and if you like looking at waterfront houses - this is a trip for you. Very pretty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottmordue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tranquility guaranteed”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have been visiting Salhouse Broad fairly regularly for 65 years ( I was born nearby!) and we keep returning . very little changes although you really have to look very carefully to find the last remains of the old torpedo boat that I played on as a kid

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank roystonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet, beauty & a welcome to all”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I loved Salhouse Broad on my recent visit. At the car park there is a donations box and toilet block. Then there is a 5 minute walk through pretty woodland, on paths and boardwalks to the shore of the broad. Dogs are welcome as are children!

We saw the first brood of 12 ducklings of the season much to the delight of the little children (their parents and their dogs!).

I enjoyed walking through the carefully marked paths in the bluebell woods, watching families play on the natural play equipment and I took a ride on the 'ferry' which was actually a six (?) seater open motor boat which takes you over to the nature reserve or around the broad and onto the River Bure and back for about 20 minutes. The tourist information says the ferry goes on the hour but if no one is at hand, you call up the mobile number given and they come straight away. They will arrange to drop you off on the island nature reserve and collect you at the time you set. It's only little. The two girls who work there full time, all year round are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The ferry cost £3.50.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BevG164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
704 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“It's Free! It's Pretty!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Salhouse abroad is one of the few broads (Norfolk lakes) you can walk to, after parking for free. It's one of the prettiest and smallest. You can hire a kayak. If you're on the river abjure, you can sail there. And the ice-cream launch is rarely far away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salhouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The finest broad in the Wroxham area”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I lucky enough to live only a short bicycle ride away, I must say I am a little reluctant to share this quite secluded place.
There,s a small car park at the entrance with public toilets and to reach the broad a short walk along a wooded path.
I guess its suitable for wheel chairs prams etc although a little muddy this time of year.
There,s a large grassy hill to sit and watch boats and birds with rustic benchs randomly placed
An ideal place for picnics... BBQ,s must be raised from the ground so you dont burn the grass, Also a small childrens play area with logs and balance platforms.
In the summer months you can rent a canoe and the ice cream man arrives by boat.
A nice place to spend an afternoon on a sunny day but it does get busy in the summer months.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salhouse Broad also viewed

 

Been to Salhouse Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing