We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Norwich
Reserve with OpenTable
Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Norwich is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $9 - $63
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the centre of Norwich, the stylish steakhouse is perfect for dining or relaxing anytime in the day. All of our meat is delivered fresh everyday from our very own butcher in Middleton, Norfolk, ensuring a delightfully fresh meal each and every time you visit. Why not check out our delicious Sunday Roast along with our Lunch Specials on Monday to Saturday between 12.00 & 3.00 pm.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Friday lunchtime, we both chose cheese burgers off the lunchtime menu. The burgers were nicely cooked and had a good portion size of chips. We chose an Eton Mess and Chocolate Brownie for dessert, again very nice.

We thought the 2 course lunch was very reasonable at £8.95 each. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere too. We will be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abbeylls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    485
    244
    104
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak house serving cold steak”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What a shame this turnt out to be. Although the service was ok the food was an extreme.let down. A restaurant advertised as a steak house cannot seem to get the basics right. When we questioned the meal being cold we were served a replacement which wasnt much better. The managers seemed to spend all their time talking to each other by the bar. Not great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidf1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over rated and over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Norwich needs a great steakhouse and after reading the reviews and hype I thought that Middleton's would fit the bill ...... Wrong!

So, 8 of us arrive on Wednesday night to find that they have lost our pre-order even though it had been confirmed by phone earlier in the day (no big deal and not an issue for us. But not even an apology or a courtesy drink for the inconvenience).

Then after a while and a number of comments about rumbling tummies the starters arrive. poor, ESP the mushrooms, but even the garlic bread is cold (I'm no chef but even I can get that right).

The main courses were hit and miss. 2 of the steaks ordered medium rare were overdone and the medium steak contained more blood than a bad zombie flick. Not great and not what you would expect for the price.That said the Middleton's grill, fish cakes and steak / sticky were superb. These were 5* and worth every penny.

Service has to be described as 'uninterested' with our server saying ' I've only got 2 hands' when we asked if we could order more drinks. One of us even apologised for asking him (far too British). Not focused on the customer at all and perhaps some of the proceeds from our expensive meal could be invested in some customer service training (just an idea Middleton's).

Finally, although a discount was given for the starters the bill still came to over £35 a person and for that I expected a lot more, ESP re the level and professionalism of the service. To top it off no one came to the table for payment so as we went downstairs to find someone to pay. At this point a man ran after us and shouted at us in front of other guests that we hadn't paid (no s Sherlock!). Talk about how to wow customers on their 1st visit.

So, what was planned as a celebratory meal in a top class restaurant resulted in; 1. Inconsistent food, 2. Poor customer service. 3 being embarrassed in front of other guests.

Result, if you believe the hype, don't mind paying top dollar for mediocre food and want to be insulted...... Go to Middleton's !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank philndawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Left feeling like i was expecting twins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Wow. Love this place. Staff very friendly and helpful. Went there with my partner and at so much yummy food that i left feeling obese. I had the breadcrumbed mushrooms for starter which was nice, bit dry but still yummy. My partner had the fishcake for starter, which was just A fishcake on its own!?!. For mains i.had the middletons mixed grill....steak,chicken,ribs and wedges...omg...the.best mixed grill i have ever had.my partner had the steak n spice,which was perfectly cooked. For desert i had the lemoncheesecake which was a great way to finish off.
Overall, there are very few ways to criticise middletons and i will definatly recommend this place to.everyone. Its not fancy but the food is pretty much perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went here with my boyfriend and a couple of friends. Décor is fab and very modern clean looking! We were seated in a booth, service was quick and polite. Food was fab and worth the money. Couldn't fault the visit and will definitely return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Norwich also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing