We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good”
Review of Prime

Prime
Ranked #16 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tucked away within a chocolate-box setting, Prime at The Edith Cavell in Norwich offers chunky prime-cut steaks and a selection of grilled seafood. Food is served on a sizzling hot stone, where diners can cook their food to personal perfection.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Returned again this year. Still nice steak and very friendly helpful service. Superb place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    124
    40
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meat Meat Meat”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really great food. Fish platter was amazing and so was the steak on the hot rock. Could say its a gimmick but its a good idea especially if your fussy about your steak comes with a choice of sauce and butter. Lovely. Staff were fantastic too would go back again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food Good - Let down by service & atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited on a Thursday evening and were surprised to be the only people in the restaurant. A couple had dined but were just leaving (about 7.30pm). We had a meat platter to share to start and then we both had the hot stone steaks which were really very nice. Because it was so empty it lacked any atmosphere, even the waitress left and went downstairs so we had to go and find her to get the bill, also she spent the evening looking disinterested and chewing gum which really wasn't very appealing. Would we go back, yes, as the food was good, in the hope the service and atmosphere was just a one off!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had an amazing meal in this lovely restaurant, which we happened upon by chance.
We would recommend it wholeheartedly, from the mussels for starters through to the lemon cake desert.
The service was friendly and prompt and the whole experience most enjoyable.
if it wasn't a 5 hour drive away we would be regulars!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabisagenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Steak Heaven - A New Jewel In Norfolk's Crown”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow ! A truly magnificent meal, great service, amazing Steak!
Having heard about Prime at The Edith Cavell I must say I was sceptical and thought the volcanic rock thing would be a bit of gimick, how wrong I was.
Anyone else calling themselves a Steakhouse in Norwich can think again! There is only one place to go for Steak in Norwich - Prime!
As a table of 8 we were treated to a lovely waitress who looked after us with a friendly smile throughout the evening. 3 course all served to exacting standards.
Well done Prime you have found a niche and nailed it! Your meat was on par with the best I have experienced! Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SheldanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing