We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chip Shop

The Chip Shop
Ranked #76 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have been going to this chippy for over 20 years, its had the same friendly owners for all this time always, friendly, and always a joke about the footy. The food is always supurb and portions large. I believe their donnar kebab to be the best I have ever tasted.

Beware of the queues, wrap up on a cold night, you may be some time getting your food, but always worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamese317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chip shop in Norwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We regularly get our fish and chips from here and it is always delicious! The fish is fresh, the batter is crispy and the chips are heavenly. Also, the price of the food undercuts all of the chip shops near by! Couldn't ask for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank watto1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOrwich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best fish and chip shop in Norwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This really is the best fish and chip shop I've ever been to and like Emlou18 I've eaten my fair share of chips . I've never been disappointed and it always feels like a treat when we get some from there as they are so good. Yes, there can be a queue however this is a testament as to how good the shop is. Staff are always friendly and the place is spotlessly clean.

My only criticism as with most other fish and chip shops is that they don't offer any alternative fish types that are more sustainable compared to cod/haddock etc.

If you fancy one of our great British traditional meals then head to Stafford Street and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WishyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, not greasy, will defiantly be going back for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've eaten a lot of fish and chips in my time and The Chip Shop serves one of the best! I knew it was going to be good when I arrived at 7.30pm and there was a queue of about 25 people going out the door!!!! I ordered 1 large haddock, chips and mushy peas and it was sublime. The haddock was bright white, big flakes and served in crisp, non-greasy batter and the chips were equally as tasty. Service was polite and swift too. Thanks for a delicious dinner, well worth queuing for. Keep up the good work! P.S They don't accept cards so make sure you have cash!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emlou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely jubbly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Been having great chips from here for 20 years. Great friendly service and smashing food. the large cod is bigger than your plate

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skip1186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing