We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish I lived nearer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namaste India

Namaste India
Ranked #10 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Namaste India is an Authentic Indian and Pure Vegetarian Restaurant.80% of our dishes are suitable for Gluten free and vegan diet.At Namaste India,we serve non alcoholic beer and wine.We do not serve alcohol but customers can bring their own with nominal Corkage Charge. We are a small restaurant and that is why booking will be important if you are planing to dine in at Namaste India Norwich. This is not part of any chain but we are a small family business. If you have visited India or Have dined in at some of the finest Indian Restaurants in London, Birmingham, Leicester and you are searching for a real Indian restaurant in Norfolk, Namaste India is your must Visit place.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I wish I lived nearer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

If only I didn't live so far away from this restaurant - the food is superb, the service is excellent and the setting is unpretentious and homely. None of your run of the mill curries here, but 100% vegetarian street food and home cooking. I'd have eaten my way through the whole menu if I'd had the stomach capacity. No alcohol is served but you can get that anywhere - food like this is a rare treat. I could move house .....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    147
    33
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

a birthday treat - good food, friendly staff, lovely lassi and being veggie myself for nearly 40 yrs almost spoilt for choice from a meat free menu. Food was fresh and tasty with lots of extras (even a recipe book!) and a good mix of regional varieties of Indian food - from south to the north. Will definitely go again and this time will try and remember my 10% off voucher before it expires!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MalxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious delicious delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came here for an impromptu lunch and it was well worth it! Had the lunch deal as well as a couple of sides. Everything was so full of flavour and incredibly tasty. The service was very good, quick and very friendly. The palate cleanser given at the end of the meal was yummy! Again, full of incredible, aromatic flavours.

I will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmdp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food is very authentic tasting and waiting time is minimal, making this restaurant a great option for weekday lunches. I am looking forward to visiting the restaurant for an evening meal soon.

As well as being very tasty, our lunch was very aromatic, which is not normally something I would associate with Indian food. Such a refreshing change to be served a fully vegetarian meal too. I am not a veggie but the lack of meat did not spoil my enjoyment at all.

With excellent value for money this restaurant comes highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Simply one of the best Indian meals ever. The home-made lime pickle is amazing. We had chilli bhajis and chat, a perfect combination, followed by spicy utthapam (worth the wait, for all the other reviewers who seem to have been a bit impatient) and quite brilliant cashew nut curry. The service was better than great, the staff (particularly Dalsukhi - hope I have spelled his name right) were lovely and helpful and went out of their way to help (and were happy to make a spicier version for the couple at the next table). Yes, it isn't modern decor, but it's just right for the restaurant. We will be back. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste India also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Namaste India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing