We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family lunch”

Prezzo Norwich Tombland
Ranked #598 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good family lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed a Sunday lunch here and very pleasant it was too. Efficient staff. Tasty food with good portions. Children (7,8 and 12) approved too. Just could do with stepping up a notch on the cleanliness in the toilets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    61
    45
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Service was too fast and food was disappointing. A salad of tomatoes and red onions was so simple that I begrudged paying in excess of £3 for it (it consisted of little more than a sliced tomato and a sliced onion with an imperceptible dressing). I arrived at 7.15 and was all done by 7.55. The main event - a bog-standard microwaved lasagne - was nothing to write home about.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Not rushed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have eaten at other branches of Prezzo before and we did enjoy this visit. We were looked after very well and we were not rushed to leave despite the restaurant being very busy (Saturday).

The food, service and atmosphere was very good and we would use again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waldorf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good restaurant, good food, friendly staff, good location always have an interesting menu. Well done...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rude staff, carry on walking and find somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently had a holiday in Norfolk, and during our stay went into Norwich for a look around. We were just thinking we could do with a coffee when we found ourselves outside Prezzo’s, where another couple were sitting outside drinking, and a waitress was clearing up their plates.
Now we had no idea what sort of place Prezzo’s was. We didn’t know if they did coffees, we didn’t know if they were actually open. For all we knew, they could have been waiting for the other couple to clear off so they could shut up shop. Assuming they were open, we also didn’t know the procedure for ordering – should we just sit down and wait for the waitress, or go inside to place our order?
So, we attempted to make enquiries of the waitress. However, she clearly resented our interruption of her duties and pretty much ignored us as she carried on marching into the place with the dirty plates. She could have simply said “take a seat and I will be back to take your order”, but no, her whole attitude was that she was busy, and we were intruding. Well, if she found it difficult to collect up a couple of plates and be polite and pleasant to other customers, do have to wonder how she manages in really busy times.
Although at that point we should have just walked away, we didn’t, as think our need for a drink and a sit down outweighed our normal tendency to not tolerate poor customer service. So we sat and waited, hoping that she would in fact reappear.
Eventually a chap we took to be the manager came out and asked if we wanted something or if we were just having a rest! We said we’d like coffee and he subsequently sent out the waitress to take our order. However, my husband was fuming that he was suggesting we had just parked ourselves at his table without any intention of buying anything – like we were some sort of vagrants. If his staff had been prepared to listen when we tried to talk to her, she’d have known why we were there.
We had our coffee, and as we didn’t see hide nor hair of the waitress outside again, hubby assumed he’d have to go inside to pay. In doing so it seems he was told only the manager could take the money, and said manager continued to faff around doing other things, before finally being prepared to give hubby his attention. Quite frankly I am surprised my husband didn’t tell him that as he was too busy to take our money, he was too busy to pay, and just walk out. That would have focussed their attention!
As it is, we will never go in any Prezzo again, and of course will relate our story to anybody who will listen. As Trip advisor is attached to my Facebook account who knows how many generations of “friends of” will get to read my review.
Perhaps eventually the message will get through to the manager and his staff that the customer IS the most important part of the business.
For anybody finding themselves in that neck of the woods, I say keep going as there are heaps of bars and eating establishments in that area. Only wish we had known that at the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turbomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prezzo Norwich Tombland also viewed

 

Been to Prezzo Norwich Tombland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing