We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Saturday lunch”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #102 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN NORWICH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The Royal Arcade's gorgeous art nouveau style brings a touch of pure class to this elegant Jamie's Italian. The two-storey restaurant in Norwich seats more than 250 people and is ideally located in the middle of the city centre's main shopping area. Jamie's Italian Norwich is a great spot for anything from a mid-shopping pit stop or a casual dinner with friends to an intimate meal or a big celebration.
Yoxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Saturday lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I tried Jamie's on sat and we really enjoyed the food, the service and the atmosphere. We will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Dpegg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    503
    451
    292
    152
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not fault it.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews but had no need to be.
We was greeted by our server who was very friendly and explained the specials to us before taking are drinks order. Our started of bruschetta and cured meats arrived within 5 minutes and was so tasty.
I has. Lasagne for mains and I have to say it was the best tasting lasagne I'd ever had. Even though we were both full we ordered a dessert plank to try a selection of deserts. I'd personally recommend the amaretto brownie it was to die for. A Reasonably priced restaurant with staff who are friendly is a rarity these days .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch and was really looking forward to it. The food was disappointing. We both ordered steak which was Luke warm and the chips were too hot to eat!! We were unimpressed by the surroundings. The one good thing was the waitress who could not do enough. All in all £80.00 was very overpriced for a very average lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pre valentines dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice welcome bar, great venue in the center of Norwich.
Tables good size, busy restaurant upstairs also. great props.
clean and not too noisy. Food reasonable, rabbit did not have much meat, plaice thin. prompt service and overall okay but nothing special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wine and bar great - food less than average”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked some weeks in advance for Valentines night 2014, we were placed at a table near the window and also near the staff island at the top of the stairs - hardly the nicest table in the place, but it was very busy i guess.

We ordered a meat plank for two, followed by a fillet stake for me and pork wrapped in parma ham for my wife. Accompanied by a nice bottle of Italian red.

The wine was superb and it was obvious that care had been taken in selecting a range of good quality wines for every budget. We've travelled to Italy a fair bit and recognised the label from a small vineyard that we've not seen over here. A good start.

Sadly the food was not up to the same standard. The meat plank for two, was a bit disappointing. Two slices of ham and a sliver of salami, two slivers of parmesan, two chunks of mozarella, a couple of chillies, a couple of olives and a bowl of shredded carrot (with a hint of beetroot) - no bread! Ok so its a starter and not to the standards we are used to in Italy, so perhaps the main can live up to the Jamies name??

Oh dear. My wifes pork was salty. Now i'm not talking a little salty here, i'm talking salt encrusted to the point of being ruined. We pointed this out to the waitress who immediately sent someone else over. This person (who didnt introduce herself) waffled on at an alarming rate about keeping customers happy and the stated she would reduce the bill by £5 - not replace the inedible pork - laughable!

Next up, was my fillet steak (ordered rare). This was served with a burned crust at the top and a rare section underneath. It was like eating two steaks in one: A burned offering and a perfectly cooked rare section. Has to rate as one of the worst fillet steaks i've ever eaten.

At that point we gave up, decided that talking about it to the waitress was a waste of time, paid up and left.

Sorry Jamie. We were so really looking forward to this meal and it was such a disappointment.

The quality just wasnt there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillHDiss_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing