We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #101 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN NORWICH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The Royal Arcade's gorgeous art nouveau style brings a touch of pure class to this elegant Jamie's Italian. The two-storey restaurant in Norwich seats more than 250 people and is ideally located in the middle of the city centre's main shopping area. Jamie's Italian Norwich is a great spot for anything from a mid-shopping pit stop or a casual dinner with friends to an intimate meal or a big celebration.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I ordered from the specials, I had the slow roast pork which was lovely. My husband had the seafood linguini, and like other reviews that I've since read, found this to be pretty bad. The pasta was very dry, fish was tasteless and the sauce was thin and watery. It was the first time we have ever sent a dish back. The second attempt at it was an improvement but still not up to much, which was quite a let down considering it cost more than my pork dish which was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    510
    451
    295
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“first time visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

i really enjoyed it in there . i just think when u have the platters for two they should put the foods in different dishes. great food. especially recommend the chicken breast

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 723kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a let down”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having visited Jamie's Italians in other towns I would say I'm a fan. The one in Norwich however was a real let down.
I visited with a colleague and some clients for dinner. Before we ate I said how much I liked these places, but the food was poor. The burgers were dry, posh chips tasted like they were cooked a week earlier, and the carbonara was particularly runny.
When we could get the attention of the waiter he was helpful, but we had to wait minutes at a time to get him.
Jamie would not have been proud of the food we were served!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meeting Friends in Norwich”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have never been to the Jamie's chain of restaurants before - but friends told me that this one was particularly good. The staff were extremely welcoming and very cheerful. Upstairs was light and open but down stairs was very dark. The drinks were very expensive - and that was just for the cans of lemonade (£2.45). The menu did look inviting but again very expensive. Meat platter came first which was tasty along with a mixture of breads but at about 7 pounds for the meat and 4 pounds for the breads as a starter this was a lot of money. My main course was nice but not sure why I needed to pay so much for the funky chips (chips with parsley on). Pudding was small, perfectly formed but really nice. I would say that overall the service was very good the food tasty. Note: be prepared to bring a lot of money with you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK but could be better”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Started with a warm bottle of beer - need I say more!

Had special steak - came with a rocket garnish and some tomatoes on it - very thin for the price and needed boosting with some chips at £3.95 - expensive. Crab dish didn't have much in it and amaretto ice cream had maybe seen the bottle but none poured into it.
Better than most chain restaurants but no real wow factor on this visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing