We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as I had hoped for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #113 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN NORWICH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The Royal Arcade's gorgeous art nouveau style brings a touch of pure class to this elegant Jamie's Italian. The two-storey restaurant in Norwich seats more than 250 people and is ideally located in the middle of the city centre's main shopping area. Jamie's Italian Norwich is a great spot for anything from a mid-shopping pit stop or a casual dinner with friends to an intimate meal or a big celebration.
Norwich
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had hoped for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very disappointing. Not the first visit but previously the food had been underwhelming so I felt I would give it one more go.
The place is very, very busy and I was told a 2 1/2 hr restriciton is in place on tables, even for families?
I have spent quite a lot of time in Italy so have come to expect Italian restaurants to provide food which bares at least some resemplance to what the mother country has iven the world.
Unfortunately Jamies (at least in Norwich) does not do that.
One should not go to places like this and expect cheap food BUT it is not too much to expect decent value for the menu prices.
Jamies does not deliver on that either.
The American style waiter/waitress service put me off a bit.
My food arrived ( the restaurant was packed ) but it looked for all the world that it had come out of a´boil in the bag' kitchen.
I will not be returning for some time.
Sorry Jamie this does NOT live up to the TV expectation

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swampy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    494
    437
    289
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went here with friends expecting this to be a really nice night out with good food. Disappointingly average and really expensive for the quality of food served. Atmosphere was more canteen than restaurant. The 'rustic' theme perhaps taken a bit too far. No flexibility offered on the menu either, I asked for an ingredient to be omitted from my starter but was told that could not be done, unusual for a restaurant do that. Food came out really quickly too, suggests many dishes already prepared in advance. Side orders so expensive for the quantity, and these are needed as the mains aren't too big either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The waitress was lovely, and very helpful, the food was ok, but believe me there are much better italian restuarants in Norwich than this one. Unfortunately after eating there one of our party was ill afterwards and the doctor is testing for food poisoning, which given that it was her 21st birthday treat, was not a good experience. Trying to complain was also difficult, I did this intially via email thru there website, (and phone no it difficult to find), but got no response, in this matter I would have thought an instant response was warrented, I then made a phone call and am now waiting for a manager to respond, so all in all a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa20Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Average Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

For the money you can get much better food and definitly better ambience from Prezzo's (amoungst others I'm sure)! It was very canteen style dinning - very noisy and tables too close together. Not fine dinning by any stretch of the imagination. Food was passible but not worth the money and certainly would not bother going back. I had heard bad things from a few different people but I like to make my own opinions but I wish I had listened to those who said 'DON'T BOTHER'.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hicks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive plain food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

No starter. Beef burger and chips and grilled chicken in a tomato sauce and chips. Had to order the sides, posh chips, as the meal was too small. 2 small desserts. £64! Nice but expensive. Think £10 for 2 glasses of red wine is well over the top.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Opolopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing