We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Guest House
Ranked #12 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is a Gem, stayed here one night, Close to the city, clean comfortable rooms and facilities, serves a nicely cooked Full English breakfast at a very reasonable price; Will certainly use this guest house again when i'm next in Norwich;

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
45
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was so pleased with our stay at this beautiful guest house. We booked a family room and were very pleasantly surprised when we were shown to a beautiful little annexe. We had a good sized bedroom and a living room with a sofa bed and a small kitchen. We had a large well equipped bathroom with an amazing power shower.we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be staying again in the future. The people who run this delightful place were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Would also like to add amazing value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stopped here one night,when we attended a family wedding nearby. The rooms were very clean,and spacious.the staff are extremely helpful.we would definitely advise any visitor to the area to use this lovely guest house,its absolutely top notch. And by the way the breakfast is very nice too!!

Room Tip: ask for the large room,as it has a double bed,and a large single,and also the bathroom is big too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great little b&b.
Lovely rooms, stayed in the Maids room and Flat. Spacious, well equiped rooms at a good price.
Tasty cooked breakfasts, with a good choice of food.
Would recommend.
Will stay again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emluca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I got married a month ago and my brides maids and I stayed at the Hill House. I was so stressed as the plans kept changing with the girls however owners were very understanding and helpful. Some of the other guests stayed as well and were also amazed at what a beautiful hotel it is. I would have expected to easily pay twice the amount we payed for the quality of room. The bathrooms are luxurious and the rooms are spacious the room we stayed at gave us plenty of room to get ready for the wedding.

They were understanding of how raucous my hen night was however, if I knew just how crazy it was going to be I would have opted for a hotel aimed at a younger audience. I felt so badly that we were so loud in this quiet and lovely place. Not that they ever complained mind you!
The breakfasts are REALLY good and I learned how to make the best eggs from the owner.

Also, the owner was kind enough to run after me and even drive to the church when I left my bouquet so I could walk down the aisle with my bouquet. That was incredible service.

Don't be put off by the simple website and low prices this is a truly fantastic B&B!

Room Tip: The annex is a great place for larger parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webwolf404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east Queensland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The website on this property does not do justice to the great accommodation it offers. Just stayed 4 nights in the Maids room. It was spotlessly clean, very spacious, had a double bed & a single bed, and plenty of room for luggage. The large bathroom has a spacious walk in shower, a large sink, and a table with chair for extra storage, and ideal for putting on make-up.
The beds were very comfortable, with attractive bedding. The television and desk are well placed for both viewing, and using for laptop etc. Plentiful supplies of tea, coffee, and hot chocolate, replenished daily. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choices, and any special needs are readily catered for. The whole property is very well kept, quite, and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopper0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very pleasant large well-appointed bedroom and en-suite bathroom. Very clean and well decorated. Good 'home-cooked' breakfasts with choice and variety. Friendly and solicitous service. Thus very good value and highly recommended. Check out the owner's 'before and after' photos in the breakfast room, to see how much sheer hard work and investment needed to get the house to its current high standard ;-).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oaklands Hotel
The Oaklands Hotel
#22 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#16 of 86 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Guest House

Property: Hill House Guest House
Address: 2 Hillside Road | Thorpe Saint Andrew, Norwich NR7 0QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hill House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing