We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast in Norwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Reading Rooms - CLOSED

The Reading Rooms
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Reading Rooms is a family-run Gourmet Cafe committed to providing delicious food and drink. At our cafe in Nelson Street you will always be sure of a warm welcome. We pride ourselves on great service, great food and a fabulous atmosphere. We will always endeavor to supply local, free-range food wherever possible. Try our Norfolk sausages made exclusively for us less than a quarter of a mile away, that really is local! Our cakes are all made on the premises - try our Croissant Bread Pudding with Whiskey and White Chocolate or our handmade Beetroot and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream. Call to check what vegetarian, gluten free and lactose free dishes are being served on the day. Thank you to all our Tripadvisor reviewers
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Norwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Best breakfast in Norwich by a country mile. The staff are awesome and always go out of their way to help when we turn up with our seven month old son. Cant ever see my self going anywhere else ever again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here on Friday and loved it!

Knew we'd like it when the owner told us 'the rules are: get pissed on your own booze...and that's the only rule!'

Even though it's a small place you don't feel like you're sitting on top of each other and the food is awesome. I'd really reccomend the whitefish saltimbocca, one of the nicest meals I've had anywhere!

Will definitely be returning :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilyharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic veggie breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's not often as a vegetarian that meat eaters look upon your breakfast with envy, but that's what happened when my friend and I ate here last week. The breakfasts are massive (I had the vegetarian full breakfast), and everything on the plate is scrumptious, especially the toast and haloumi! The eggs were cooked perfectly as well. We were super impressed.

I had read much of the high praise this place has received on Tripadvisor before we went, and it certainly met my expectations. The staff were extremely friendly, and the atmosphere was perfect for relaxing and perusing the weekend papers. Will definately be returning soon to try the oriental street food evening. Thanks very much guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the surroundings were quirky; I particularly liked the contemporary art work on the walls that were a hot topic of conversation with some of the diners.

The food was tasty in particular the tomato and mozzarella salad and the beef burger; the fish and chip looked good too! We were particularly impressed that we could take our wine for a corkage fee of £2 per person.

We would definitely visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reeny161081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Friendly chatty staff, nice clean and pleasant surroundings.
Located opposite TheFat Cat, what more would you want?


  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScreenName004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reading Rooms also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Costessey, Norwich
 
Horning, Norwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing