We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reading Rooms - CLOSED

The Reading Rooms
21-23 Nelson Street | Opposite The Fat Cat, Norwich, England
01603 766137
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Reading Rooms is a family-run Gourmet Cafe committed to providing delicious food and drink. At our cafe in Nelson Street you will always be sure of a warm welcome. We pride ourselves on great service, great food and a fabulous atmosphere. We will always endeavor to supply local, free-range food wherever possible. Try our Norfolk sausages made exclusively for us less than a quarter of a mile away, that really is local! Our cakes are all made on the premises - try our Croissant Bread Pudding with Whiskey and White Chocolate or our handmade Beetroot and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream. Call to check what vegetarian, gluten free and lactose free dishes are being served on the day. Thank you to all our Tripadvisor reviewers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

1 Norfolk breakfast, 2 veggie breakfasts, 1 spicy fish cakes. All excellent. Great, friendly service. We've already booked for a Thai meal in July.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Here is an establishment that does a fantastic amount to put a smile on your face. On one of the hottest days of the year I decided a trip to Norwich was necessary and I wanted to start the day with a good breakfast. Quick look at Tripadvisor and The Reading Room seemed like a good option. Easy to find with the SatNav. Easy to park in the surrounding streets. Great service and some of the nicest food and drink I've been subjected to in a long while, at very reasonable prices.
I don't think many will disagree with me when I say that it's becoming increasingly hard to find an establishment that doesn't cut every imaginable corner in search of higher profits and in doing so, end up offering such mediocrity that a little piece of you dies inside when you pay the bill. This is NOT one of those places! This is a restaurant that renews your faith in small business owners: the kind that do things their way.
I had the Gourmet Breakfast (light option) with a pot of Egyptian Tea. I cannot rave enough about how we were treated and how much love and care goes in to the food. I'll definitely be back whenever in the area and anyone reading this should try The Reading Room, if for no other reason than see how it should be done.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander1970_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Your review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a delightful way to while away a few hours.
Sampling various things off the menu on a number of occasions, their breakfast left both me and my friend entirely replete, and their steak sandwich always hits the spot.
What a relief to find a place which can supply an array of properly decent coffee, soya and all catered for.
So glad to find a new home from home!
Warm friendly atmosphere, with a sense of European hospitality

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_macetessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“nice local cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had breakfast in a sunny day just at the front outside of the reading rooms. The food was tasty and the service friendly. I did not find it exceptional and I was a little bit put off by the absence of freshly squeezed juices in the menu. I'd easily go back though as it looks like a promising place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Perhaps you should come in on a day when you are in a better mood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's always good to go to the Reading Rooms - the service there is refreshingly friendly which can be unusual for a UK restaurant. They don't make you feel like you disturbed their day by showing up, the food is well priced, excellently cooked and presented, and the staff seem to actually be passionate about food and serving people. Please support them, and help me to insist they play some nice light jazz and not the radio - my only criticism.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reading Rooms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing