We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite place to lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reading Rooms - CLOSED

The Reading Rooms
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Reading Rooms is a family-run Gourmet Cafe committed to providing delicious food and drink. At our cafe in Nelson Street you will always be sure of a warm welcome. We pride ourselves on great service, great food and a fabulous atmosphere. We will always endeavor to supply local, free-range food wherever possible. Try our Norfolk sausages made exclusively for us less than a quarter of a mile away, that really is local! Our cakes are all made on the premises - try our Croissant Bread Pudding with Whiskey and White Chocolate or our handmade Beetroot and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream. Call to check what vegetarian, gluten free and lactose free dishes are being served on the day. Thank you to all our Tripadvisor reviewers
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite place to lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the first time I visited this place I felt totally at ease and excited that id found such an exciting place in Norwich. I've visited loads of times with friends and our babies and we all love it!

First of all the food. A-mazing! Always superb delicious food cooked freshly to order by the amazing chef. The portions are really very good for the price you pay. I'm a lover of sandwiches....so always order those which are delicious and jam packed with ingredients. But the breakfasts are also superb. There is a huge choice of lovely teas and also some very tempting cakes!

The ambience is wonderful and caters perfectly for my baby. Fab high chairs (so sad that I base how good a restaurant is on the quality of the high chair...but yep it's super important for us mummy's!), lots of toys for toddlers, and all food can be ordered in children's size portions which is fab!

If you haven't tried this place...give it a go. I for one am a great lover of little independent places like this and will almost certainly be back very soon for another wonderful lunch!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leilajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, General Manager at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Google Translation
Our favourite customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunchtime on a Saturday - Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was the first time we had been here. Apparently we were lucky to get in without booking. I am not surprised. It has a nice, relaxed atmosphere. The service was friendly and the cakes were delicious and well proportioned. I would certainly recommend for lunch. It is not at all formal, just friendly. We will certainly be popping in again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, General Manager at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much, you were lovely too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem on my doorstep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

You'd be hard pressed to find a more welcoming restaurant anywhere. The menu is exciting and offers very good value. We had drinks in the Fat Cat across the road and had take out dinner in the pub. This is a fantastic symbiotic relationship that works beautifully for both.

The food was excellent, freshly prepared and delicious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, General Manager at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
No you are the little gem on our doorstep...Hehehe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownie heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for coffee with a friend. Lovely atmosphere very friendly and an excellent coffee and cake. Will def be back to try the hot food

Helpful?
Thank clare_stevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, General Manager at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Clare, great to serve you. Mention you are a Trip Advisor reviewer and have a coffee on the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hot Choc and cake and a convivial chat. Looking forward to the return visit to try more from the menu. Food locally and responsibly sourced and of hight quality. At weekends book to avoid disappointment !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgloverdarke, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reading Rooms also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing