We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens and a history lesson all in!!”

Hoveton Hall Gardens
Ranked #38 of 147 things to do in Norwich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hoveton Hall Gardens is part of Hoveton Hall Estate, a small privately owned business located on the edge of the Norfolk Broads. The 15 acre gardens are open to the public from April to September each year. The gardens are a mixture of wild planting and formal walled gardens. There are also two lakes, woodland and parkland for visitors to explore and enjoy. On-site is Garden Kitchen Cafe which is run separately by Alex Firman of Alex Chef Catering.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gardens and a history lesson all in!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have visited this garden several times and each time there is something different to see. Thankfully the entrance has been improved and you now go in via the shop. The good thing is that you can visit the cafe without paying to enter the grounds. The greenhouse has been brought back to life with a potted history on display which makes interesting reading. The gardens themselves are well kept and despite the terrible weather were in good shape. On our visit a free glass of champagne was offered. A good way to spend a couple of hours and we had a meal of a ploughmans type lunch which we shared. The lady behind the counter even brought us out another plate and split the meal. Reasonable entry cost and a good sized food menu. Well worth a holiday visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

lovely and interesting gardens and grounds, especially the walled garden. Nice tea rooms. Good that the tickets allow you to come and go during the day. If I lived nearer I would get a season ticket!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting gardens”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was my first visit to Hoveton Hall Gardens and what a delight it was. The gardens are lovely and well cared for. Plenty of paths to wander along. The walled garden was superb and has plants for colour all year. Plenty of hard work and care really shows with an outstanding place to visit. The cakes and coffee are pretty good also. I will certainly be returning.It must rank as one of the best gardens I have ever visited!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chambers-seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Visited here on 9 May 12 and had a great time. Arrived at 14:00 and was met by a very welcoming lady at the ticket office/shop, the shop and some lovely things for sale (not the usual tourist stuff) and very reasonably priced, the wife even bought a few things.

Our son (nearly 5) did both kids trails and had great fun following them, we even learnt a few facts.

After the trails and woodland walk we visited the tearoom for a lovely cream tea, it's was then off to do the lake side walk. We would have walked around the gardens again but it was closing time. When we revisit we'll come earlier and have a picnic and stay all day.

Excellent place to visit, brilliant friendly staff, quite and good value.

Didn't see the otter, maybe next time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OwenPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A low-key gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We visited the garden in May 2012. We are plant lovers and found the walled garden to be very well tended and interesting. It is divided into sections and has internal features as well as borders. The gardener we talked to was friendly and knowledgeable. The woodland walk was attactive at this time of year and we wished we had allowed more time for the lake area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoveton Hall Gardens also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Hoveton Hall Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing