We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“different in a good way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 42 King Street

42 King Street
Ranked #60 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a friendly little cocktail and world tapas bar in central Norwich. We change the menus fairly regularly keeping things interesting and seasonal and put alot of love into what we do. We have an extension selection of spirits and a lovely selection of wines and beers. We are open from 10am - midnight Monday to Saturday. Serving coffee, lunch and tapas. Whether you want a well crafted cocktail, a tasty tapas dish or of course both, we are happy to have you! Hope to see you soon...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“different in a good way”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

wasn't sure what to expect when we went here but was a very good experience , the service was very friendly and made us feel at home the place has a nice cosy atmosphere . the food was very good one of the dishes we had was pigeon breast on a beetroot risotto which was yummy we had six dishes in all and all where of a good standard and well worth the money the cocktails where also excellent if not slightly overpriced in my opinion but that's my only gripe , worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank uberscoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    44
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's an Oasis in Norwich!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My favourite place in Norwich. Fabulous Cocktails, delicious Tapas, chilled Atmosphere, amazing owners. It's a must when visiting Norwich!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank js28887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing Supper Club”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter is friends with one of the owner, Grace and we have been looking forward to coming to her little "bijou" of a place. This little cosy bar is well known for its special cocktails and drinks and the ones we tasted the evening we attended the supper club were fantastic. I should have kept a copy of the menu and drinks for a description, every detail was to a "T". At £40.00 per head, we got a canapé, pre-supper cocktail, a starter, main and desert with special wines for each course. The crab and scallop lasagne was light and delicious, the pasta was thin and you could taste every food element from the seafood to the sauce. There was another starter and it got excellent reviews. There were two main options, one vegetarian butternut squash coconut curry and the non-veg main was duck. I did not hear anyone say anything negative about the main, our table had a special chef who works in a reputable Norwich restaurant and he was impressed with the quality of the food. For desert we were served an apple tarte tatin with ice cream. Again, everyone ate every morsel on their dish, the comments were extremely positive. The company was excellent, we enjoyed getting to know new people from the community, this is an experience similar to the "pop-up" restaurants, the major difference being that the business is stable, not a short-term experiment. Grace has already advertised an upcoming Supper Club at the end of May and I highly recommend this to you. Unfortunately we cannot make the next date but I know that we will take advantage of future Supper Clubs, I hope they become a regular occurrence. Well Done Grace and 42 King Street's wonderful CHEF.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bleecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Supper Club - A hidden gem within a hidden gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Norwich is full of hidden gems, and 42 King street is definitely among them.

Upon discovering this discreet little restaurant one is rewarded with a warm welcome and the most mouthwatering selections of drinks that the city can offer.

The cocktail menu is inviting and clear and although initially the pricing might seem a little toward the premium end of things you soon are soon reassured that your money has not only been exchanged for refreshment but also for a very positive experience.

Try the limoncello here and your mouth will love you for the rest of your life.

The Supper Club was my first experience of the new food menu and it enhances an already enviable reputation for quality.
Presentation is exceptional, the balance of flavours is perfect and who wouldn't be tempted by a menu including crab and scallop lasagne?

In summary, 42 King Street is intimate, daring and discreet, positive, evolutionary and probably open right now.

Highly Recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here after reading all the reviews here. Great little place, very intimate, and a great range of amazing cocktails. Mixologist really knew her stuff and was friendly and attentive throughout our stay. She also happily made up a bespoke cocktail for one of our party which was excellent. Thoroughly recommended for the best cocktails in Norwich.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 42 King Street also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to 42 King Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing