We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A truly fantastic setting for a wedding reception but several issues that let it down.

1) The Steak meal I was served was uneatable and the vegetables were dried out and uneatable, I could net get a knife through the steak I had (burnt on the outside and raw and cold in the middle) and full of gristle.

2) The cost of soft drinks for children and teenagers £3.20 for a large glass of lemonade & 75p for a dash.

3) At 22:00 they ran out of ice.

4) Shortage of bar staff it took ages to get served.

5) Breakfast was a shambles when they finally put the bread out for toast there was no butter to be found, when we asked for it we were told there was butter substitute on the tables. NO sorry toast calls for butter!!

All in all if they get these problems solved it would a great location, shame wee did not get the things we expected.

Room Tip: We had a family lodge and it was first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    182
    142
    96
    77
See reviews for
142
251
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I'm arrivived, during the night, there were a very loud party in the Groundfloor and little garden.. my first thougt was: "Amazing, I'm tired about the long trip, when will I can sleep? Tomorrow I have to wake up early to see the university without sleeping!?"
I've ordered a beer with my friends at the bar and is arrived a cider.. maybe my pronunce wasn't correct and there was loud
in 10-15 minutes I was returned in my bedroom,
the bathroom seemed an archaeological find of World War II and on the bed I've found white spots on a cushion!!!
but this was nothing.. the breakfas was more FAST than break: when I'm sitted on a 4 places table and I've founded 2 glass, 3 forks and 2 kinevs all dirty and some zones of the table was like glue.. too sticky..
I'm returned in my bedroom, made my bags, paid and run away from that bloody hell..!!!

Room Tip: there are a lot of other Hotel in Norwich, why Oaklands Hotel? probably because you hate yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonomins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

the room photo bore no resemblance whatsoever to the tiny room full of mis-matched furniture I was given. the bathroom had gaps in the tiles...smelt like a sewer and hairs in the bath. and there was NOT a shaver point...or a 3 pin socket... the bed was old lumpy and uncomfortable...not that there was the chance to sleep anyway... the oversize marquee under my window had a wedding party (on a Thursday night) with loud music until midnight...and people talking loudly and smoking until 2am.
the fried breakfast was sparse...but the lady in charge of the breakfast room very nice...brought coffee quickly...although half way through 2 cleaners turned up with vacuum cleaners and proceeded to noisily clean the adjoining function room....
on the plus side...only £54 with breakfast...free wifi...free parking...

Room Tip: ?????... go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The lodges were fine, very very clean and well proportioned with a lounge, small kitchen area, good sized bedroom and large bathroom with bath and shower. No complaints there. The staff we spoke to were a mixed bunch, some very polite and some less so. When we tried to book a room initially the receptionist looked at us like we were mad, then told us to go on line and do it. There was a strong smell of cabbage and the dining area was "sticky". We were attending a wedding which was great for us but I felt for people staying there as non wedding guests, I think it must have been very noisy. We didn't try the regular hotel food, but the wedding reception food was fine and there was a reasonable breakfast the next morning. Would not stay there again but unless we had been going to a wedding we wouldn't have stayed in the first place. Shame as the lodges are really nice, the hotel lets them down. Above all else, ask if there's a wedding or function on the night you want to stay. Location by the river is excellent, really nice.

Room Tip: Go for a lodge away from the main hotel, quieter and you get an outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Setting:

A private road up a hill leads to the hotel and the ample car park which is free. The main building has accommodation in rooms and there are lodges next to the hotel each of which comprises of a living room, a bedroom, a bathroom, a patio area which leads down to a private garden. The hotel is well-shielded from the main road and trees and rich vegetation. It has the potential to be a very restful place......

We found the area near the lodges to be littered and quite dirty. This includes the outdoor unheated pool which was covered up and looked most unsightly with beer bottles, grime and filth in general. An attempt has been made to create a restful garden in this area but the whole is unkempt. There is a no smoking policy within the hotel and we found ash trays full to the brim in areas where smoking is allowed (our patio area had not been cleaned before our arrival).

Reception and Service:

A pleasant reception welcome and both quick check in and check out.

Service at breakfast was cordial.

Breakfast experience:

Pretty average English fare in a clean and well-maintained dining room. There is a choice of tinned prunes or grapefruit, the usual breakfast cereals and a cooked breakfast - all buffet service - best to give most of the dishes a miss - overcooked and mostly processed meats.

Accommodation:

We had one of the lodges and although the space is ample our stay was not a pleasant one. There was much noise from the lodge above (till 3.00 am), the area was not cool ( a small mini fan was provided), noise from trains and traffic together with the most uncomfortable and noisy hotel bed made for very poor sleep. In fact I was forced to sleep on the couch in the lounge! However, good quality bed linen provided.

Wardrobe had a musty smell and this part of the lodge needs some serious airing.

Fortunately the bathroom experience was a pleasant one. Deep, clean towels, a powerful shower head, basic but good quality toiletries. Bring your own shower cap. No hand rails so be careful when leaving the shower.

On the plus side the hotel provides free wi fi and the connection was good.

This hotel needs tweaking here and there and it could be a little gem.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came here for a wedding reception, and have to say found the place poor.
The first thing was that there was not any parking as they were running 2 weddings at the same time, I noticed the guests from one wedding entering the others venue, not very classy.
The decor throughout was of the 1980's and not very inviting. The toilets were also worse for wear. In the middle of these 2 weddings was the restaurant for guests of the hotel. Not good for either parties. The food was OK but a little underdone. A sign said as you entered " Music until midnight sorry if it keeps you awake" said it all.
It seems they tried to get as much into the place without thinking about the customer experience.
Overall would I recommend this place, No there are much better places in Norwich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

my wife and I booked this august bank holiday to celebrate our anniversary, there were two weddings at the hotel on the Saturday and two more events on the sunday, if I knew this I would not have booked at this hotel, he amount of people worse the ware for drink, driving out of the car park, one of them even reversed into the side of my car causing damage, the hotel accepts no responsibility, then couples causing a commotion at 4.45 am because there was a few wasps in their room, the windows had been left open so they could smoke in the room without setting off the smoke alarm, I had to go to reception to alert the night porter about the problem as the rooms occupants were drunk and rambling and didn't know what to do, needless to say we didn't get back to sleep, all the doors along the passage ways slam shut-loudly, this went on for an hour or so while the wasp people changed rooms, was there a simple apology at 9 am when we left and handed the door keycard to the receptionist ?, NO, the floors creaked loudly, the carpets just looked like fabric stretched over the floor, the damp stains on the ceilings and wall ,the hotel from hell, but don't just take my word for it, pop in when your in the area and see for yourself, next time we will go up the road to the premier inns,

Room Tip: go to the premier inn just half a mile up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Address: Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing